My drawings #3

in #art5 years ago

My drawing of Chris John Millington, a Scottish model based in New York

IMG_3560.PNG

Today I met a watercolor artist while visiting a carnival. I learned two important things from him:

Subtlety

When I showed him the drawing above he immediately pointed out the technique I used to capture the model's fading haircut style. It's all bout the details. The dark areas would blend with the very light parts with a gradient. However I did vary how the fast the darks gradient into the whites (For example the gradient changes faster near the back of his head). Those details make for realism more precisely.

Making your drawing look convincing

In this case it's all about foreground, background. Making them 'work together', as he said, requires understanding of the subject and its surroundings, as well as the lighting involved. How I achieved this specifically is by completely merging the lightest parts on the his face with the background with absolutely no shading involved. The forehead for example, if backlit with bright natural light, should contain as little shading as possible. I avoid solid outlines as it would make the subject look out of place from its surroundings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68