CHARCOAL DRAWING - EARTH DRAGON

in #art6 years ago

Hello Friends!

My practice of the day is another incredible creature. It is a new dragon made with charcoal pencils!

Earth Dragon


IMG_20180731_172545_444.jpg

brown-watercolor-splatter-1.png

In mythologies there are different dragons, including elementals, Water, earth, fire, air, light and darkness. Today i wanted to illustrate a new dragon for my collection, since i have learned how to make them and i feel like a child with a new toy!

the dragon that i chose to illustrate is a Dragon of Earth, it is a voracious beast, very agile on the surface of the ground, with a skin as solid as rocks and a huge physical force!

brown-watercolor-splatter-1.png

For this drawing i will need:

  • Mechanical Pencil.
  • HB Leads.
  • Charcoal Pencil Soft.
  • Brush.
  • Diffuser.
  • Moldable Eraser.
  • A4 Opaline 300G.

let's start!

  • Ready the sketch, i started by illustrating the eye, i did the drawing taking the side of the dragon because it shows better its characteristics.

  • with the charcoal pencil and the HB pencil i was illustrating the corrugated skin, giving similarity to the rocks, i gave the volume with the moldable eraser, delicately clearing at the edge of the shadows.


  • In this step, illustrate the mouth, keeping the same texture of rocks on your skin, and making thick scales.

  • I illustrate the fangs protruding from the mouth and their horns giving texture to worn bones.


  • I had a problem with the tone i used, where i could not highlight the different scales, however when giving volume with the moldable eraser, it looked good!

  • I could stain his skin a bit, making rustic strokes without blurring and this gave him an incredible texture!


  • at the end of illustrating the face, in the back part i gave a darker tone just approaching the horns, to give the feeling that it is less exposed skin.

  • His longer horn i illustrate with the HB pencil so it did not have the same dark tone as the skin, although it cost me to differentiate the shadows i could find the right tones.


  • Finally i illustrated the neck, without flaking, just keeping the same rough skin.

  • I made scales on his back and kept the texture rough, giving the sensation of rocky skin.


Around 10 hours of work and a lot of patience, this is the Final Art!

IMG_20180731_172603_022.jpg

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

brown-watercolor-splatter-1.png

It looks great right? ... Lately, i really like doing this type of illustrations! i'm already eager to make a new drawing!

if you liked write your comment! let me know what you think of this piece!

Until the next time!!
Steemit.png

Sort:  

Wowwwwwwww i love dragons. And i totally suck at making them.
But this is spectacular! Great work 👏👏👏👏

AHA!!! I want to see you draw one! i am a fan of dragons and you are an incredible artist !! you must draw one!

Ive only drawn three so far its in my deviantart hehe. Do you have one?

Buen trabajo @kennyvaldez.

Los dragones siempre requieren muchos detalles en el dibujo.

Huy siii! ni que lo digas, en este resumí los detalles y lo hice un poco caricaturesco, quiero hacer uno mas realista y se que ahi no podre ni dormir hahaha! gracias por tu comentario!

Nice drawing! I also want to create an artwork like dragon. But I felt like I won't be able to pull it off because I'm not good at making those tiny details.

I thought it was not good, i tried it a few times and it did not come out. So i focused on making other drawings such as faces, animals and objects that would allow me to make these textures.

When i tried again, i discovered how to make these scales, i felt it was easy, but the whole process that i spent drawing other things was the practice to be able to make the dragon skin, it is the most difficult thing but when you know the secret it stops being it.

Cheer up and create your own dragon!! you are an artist and you have your own style you will surely draw one that will make you feel good, remember that for perfection you have to practice a lot, if you do not try you will not know if you can or can not do it! ;)

Wow. Thank you for encouraging me. I know that success doesn't happen in just a blink of an eye. You really do have to practice and sacrifice a lot. Thank you for your kind and encouraging words! 😊

That's a masterpiece and special thanks for the step by step photos! Keep up with good work 😉

thanks for support @erikah! :)

My pleasure! :)

Love your posts!
I'm not the type of artist who can just work from left to right and end up with awesome lol so I'm always impressed by someone who has that clear of an idea in their head as they work.

I think that when you have a clear idea of ​​what you are looking to draw, every detail you do well, however there are times when the illustration becomes tedious and you leave, however you can stop and resume later or the other day drawing with the same intensity than at the beginning. The idea is not to give up.

Magnificent work, you do also fantasy artwork uh?, what a monster you're. Congrats!.

Yes, I really like these fantasy things, especially dragons and creatures with many details!! ;)

Looking bloody awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

ImI thankyou! let´s rock! ;)

What an awesome drawing! I dragons too, but I haven't drawn one as seriously as this one.

I guess I better put one in my to-do list. A 3D model first. Then I'll have my friend rig it, so I can pose and animate it. Then I'll use the poses to create references for drawing.

And do check out my latest blog entry. You'll see how obssessed I am with real dragons from the prehistoric past. :)

I could see something of what you do, i am very sure that you can make a dragon! 3D models are great! I also love to draw dinosaurs and all these creatures that require many details.

I'm thinking of making a much more realistic one yet! Thanks for showing me your content, you make it incredible!

Wow @kennyvaldez, this is simply amazing! With a pencil!! I am totally in awe; such a cool piece :)

@lynncoyle thanks! yup i only need 1 charcoal pencil hahaha! thanks for supporting always!

@kennyvaldez, that's so amazing to me!! One little pencil did all that!! Well, I guess in all fairness, you had a little something to do with it too haha😎


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99