Digital Art Treat of the Day #4 - title inside image: helpful? limiting? cheesy?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Today I'm posting a new work-in-progress that combines elements of various styles I've played with. This version includes the title of the work incorporated into the image itself, something I've only ever done a couple of times, and I'm not sure if I like it or not.

Inserting the title can be helpful, but sometimes I fear it limits viewers' experience too much. Sometimes it's cool, sometimes it makes the work look like a book jacket or album cover. I chose to include it here because conceptually the title came first, and then I created the image to match the feeling and intent inspired by the words. Usually I wait to come up with a title until the moment I have to perform the first "save" of the digital file, or later when exporting a version saved under a working title... as the work reveals itself to me further, sometimes the original title needs tweaking.

Anyway, this piece was created amidst the feeling of sheer fury that was in the zeitgeist around the time of the confirmation hearings of U.S. Supreme Court Justice Brett Kavanaugh. Hopefully some of that feeling made it into the image. I welcome your reactions... thanks!

HoldMeDownorIWillRise-web-lrg.jpg (Kevin McLaughlin, Hold Me Down or I Will Rise, digital art 2018)

Sort:  

I kinda like the title included on this one, but yeah sometimes it does not work, but i think it pulls the painting into a nice form on this one. Good form of the figure, and I like the strange head, also :) Well done !

Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55