Fantasy line buildings keep coming out of my head

in #art5 years ago

Not sure what is behind it, but lately I seem to be in a phase where I keep drawing fantastical buildings in a minimalist style. So I thought I'd share a couple. The first was inspired by the shapes of a staircase and a wave.

MountainGate-web-lrg.jpg
Mountain Gate (2019), digital art by Kevin McLaughlin

There's a sort of strength to the building which suggests to me that it's a government building, or a corporate world HQ, or something like that.

The next one is far along enough to share, I might want to fill in more detail (but I also don't wanna overdo it). From the title you can tell what I imagine it to be, but I could also see it being a performing arts center, or museum with its huge upswept wing, massive glass curtain wall and undulating steel surface coated with solar-energy-absorbing receptors.

AspirationalLibrary-Wide-web-lrg.jpg
Aspirational Library (2019), digital art by Kevin McLaughlin

The huge windows would let in a massive amount of light from multiple directions, allowing for greatly reduced electricity consumption. A significant portion of the building would also be earth-sheltered, and those factors combined with the energy generated from the building's solar surfaces, would help make it energy self-sufficient.

What do you imagine going on inside these buildings?

Sort:  

These are really architecturally conceptual, @kismetart :) They are pretty <3 I love the minimalist approach you used here, it makes the structures really elegant :) The Aspirational Library has such a gorgeous lines upwards into its main parts and I love the relationship between the conventional squarish parts and its centerpiece :)

Thanks so much! I truly appreciate your comments, @veryspider!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56