Leap Day Line Explorations 2020

in #art4 years ago

I've been working more in my minimalist linear mode lately, exploring new techniques and getting some fun results. One of the techniques involves drawing a form, cutting the line segments of that form apart, and using those lines as the basis for various blends and transformations, layered upon one another and given different weights and opacities as the piece calls for.

Hypertopograph2-bw-web-lrg.jpg

Hypertopograph (2020) digital art by Kevin McLaughlin.

This piece is reminiscent of a topographical map, warped with crisscrossing energy lines and interesting shifts in density and frequency. I'll probably keep working on this by adding color, but I rather like this raw undecorated version, too.

Eisodos-web-lrg.jpg

Eisodos (2020) digital art by Kevin McLaughlin.

This piece employs similar techniques but also has some subtle shading and fill. It's an entrance, the way in; a very meditative composition.

WireTrap-rgb-web-lrg.jpg

Wire Trap (2020) digital art by Kevin McLaughlin.

I wanted to try something different from the spare black and white rendering, so I gave this one an RGB palette and a darker canvas to highlight the lines.

TheCrystalTrellis-vertical3.jpg

The Crystal Trellis (2020) digital art by Kevin McLaughlin.

Here I took the colorization even further, filling this shimmering latticework in places with shades and patterns like art deco beadwork rippling across a pond. In the background, hazy hints of other features on the sea floor are visible beyond the vertical trellis.

I hope you enjoyed these four representative samples of my recent work... I invite your comments and reflections below. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63