sketching real things for a change... (strangers)

in #art5 years ago

A lot of my work is abstract and non-representational, but I like to keep stretching myself and trying new things, so I've been sketching random people I see in the coffee shop... it's tricky because I'm not used to drawing people, and these are not models posing for me, they move around and shift so I have to rely on observation and synthesis even more than usual.

I don't think the resemblances here are close enough for the subjects to recognize themselves, so it makes me feel a bit better because I'm not so sure about the ethics of drawing strangers. These are adults, and they were in a public place, but I did not approach them and ask for any type of permission either... my aim was for my drawing to stay undetected so as not to discomfit the subject. What do you think? Have you sketched strangers in public before? In a world full of CCTVs and cell phone cameras, does it even matter?

In any case I welcome your thoughts... enjoy!!

Dude1-web-lrg.jpg
Dude 1 (2019) digital art by Kevin McLaughlin

Dude3-web.lrg.jpg
Dude 3 (2019) digital art by Kevin McLaughlin

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I havent sketched people in public spaces before, because I'm easily intimidated .... but I think yours should be fine. As they aren't portrayed badly, just .........people being people :)

It's nice to see you exploring things that you don't usually do, too, Kevin ! <3

Thanks, it makes me feel like the money I spent on that 'observational drawing' class wasn't totally wasted!! (LOL) But seriously, it means a lot to me...as always, thank you, veryspider!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56