Getting a Handle on Things (Or in this case just a mug)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Good Day Steemians! Today I thought some of you might be interested to see how you get a handle on a pottery mug. First you have to throw your mug on the wheel and let it sit for a few days to become leather hard in order to trim off any excess clay. Before I start to trim the mug I will get a handle ready so it can sit and set up for a few minutes before I attach it to my freshly trimmed cylinder. I have a tool that makes handles for me. For those curious this is Plainsman 370 clay.

20180218_162503.jpg

Once the mug is trimmed I assemble the things I will need to attach the handle: Slip (a mixture of clay scraps and water), a scoring tool, a brush to apply slip on the mug and handle edges, some water and finally a sponge.

20180218_161352.jpg

The tool pictured here is great for roughing up the surfaces of the mug and handles.

20180218_161409.jpg

At this time you determine where you want your handle to be and with your scoring tool bascially make hashtag marks on both the ends of the handle and where they will attach onto the cylinder portion of the mug.

20180218_161459.jpg

Then apply a good glob of slip to both ends of the handle and where they will adhere to the surface of the cylinder.
20180218_161526.jpg

When the ends of the handle are adhered you take a sponge and smooth out any of the areas of the handle that are jagged and attempt to make the transition between the handle and cylinder seamless. Sometimes you need to apply a bit more slip to feel in areas.

20180218_162101.jpg

Here is the finished result which will take a few days to become bone dry and then will be bisque fired to turn it into stoneware. The mug is still fragile until its fired so one must avoid holding the mug from the handle as it will likely result in the handle separating from the cylinder (and we don't want that). The bisque fire makes the mug a lot more durable and less likely to have the handle become detached! Once out of the bisque the mug will be glazed, go back in the kiln for the final firing and then you will have a finished result.

20180218_162308.jpg

Have a Great Day!

Kobie (AKA Existential Hippy)

Sort:  

Really cool! Have always wanted to get into pottery and clay more. That mug is pro!

Thank you! :)

Nice, I have wondered exactly how that was done! I love pottery mugs; I collect them. And, for some reason, I do always end up grasping right at the attachment point of a handle on a mug when I'm drinking from one. A weird thing to say, I guess, but I'm always somehow conscious of the unique crafting of a mug when I hold one. One of those reasons I like handcrafted things so much, I suppose. In a world with so many things, a handcrafted thing is a real treat...because it has a story. I love that.

When I think maybe on an unconscious level you are acknowledging that real person put time and energy into creating it and that is awesome! So many people don't. I wrote a blog the other day on time and attention. It is out most powerful currency. :)

Ooh, neat you wrote a blog on it. I'll have to go read that. I know, time can be so hard to come by. And presence, being present. It's brings so much detail of life into vision and mind. That is what I'm acknowledging, you're right - someone put their mind and heart into making that object. I think appreciation for handicraft is one of those old time values that's fallen by the wayside, unfortunately. And that's why I've given myself the special mission of seeking out and appreciating those things. It's just fun, more than anything. Adds some spice to life...I own too many mugs - confession lol.

If you enjoy them that's all that matters. You should take a photo and post it so I can enjoy them too!

Thanks, I'll be back to read and comment when I have more time, lol. :)

I hear that.. Thanks for stopping by today and giving upsome of your previous currency to read and comment. Much appreciated!

These are amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75