Pottery Love

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180624_123150_028.jpg

CYMERA_20180622_234125.jpg

Good Day Stemmians,

Here are some pottery pieces recently out of the kiln. The top photo is one of my hand carved bowls and a hand carved candle holder. Both were tooled and trimmed on the pottery wheel but hand carved when leather hard before the bisque. This is a bit of a different glaze as it has crystals in it and the crystals burst when fired to give the verigated colour palette you see here. It's the first time. I have ventured into this type of glaze.

Another mermaid mug done for my friend. This one will be making a trip to Kauai and was glazed with my friend's love of the ocean in mind. I tried to mix and capture the colours of the ocean and its shift from its angry gray to its tranquil blue-green. This mug holds 15 ounces as my friend likes her morning coffee. :) It was thrown on the pottery wheel but the handle is handbuilt.

Have a great day!

Kobie (AKA Existential Hippy)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78