Monetisation, Art and other such malarchy.

in #art6 years ago

I like the use of this site but I'm afraid people are only going to use it for the money and not the joy of sharing information and art. I get that it's a part of being on these sorts of website but creativity doesn't emerge from big bucks: look at Hollywood, YouTube, heck even the toy market is stale due to finding a large niche and burying their faces into the consumer wallet, with no incentive to produce out of their comfort zone.
When the market slows down, they find what's "hip with the kids" and start making small quantities of alternative products. Then, when that corner of the market explodes, it's back to square one.
I'm afraid that this might happen to this website, due to immediate incentive to make money. Money is the core of broken production of art, which is why usually when some company starts making the big bucks its core fan base calls a "sell-out", because they see money as an inherent evil (as pretentious or communist as that might sound).
I just started here not so long ago, and I'm already seeing the patterns. YouTube did it, Facebook did it, so I come here as refuge, and I'm loving every bit of it. Dtube has interesting content, vlogs and such, busy seems to have cool people writing blogs about everything and anything. I like it; I just know that it's fleeting.
Thank you for your attention :)
P.S.: English is kinda not my first language, sorry for any grammatical errors you might find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67