My Art Process: Original Illustration

in #art6 years ago (edited)

When I make my own illustrations, the original concept can dramatically change sometimes.
This is a illustration I was making last year. I finally finished it today, however the end product is vastly different from how it looked while I was working on it.

beach callfinn.png

The first thing I did was make the background. on another file I finished the background, I may post the process for that in another post.
beach call-0000.jpg

I have found that I like to make blobs on the canvas and then mold it into a person. Here I made a general shape and started adding the details of how I want the character to look.
[Basic Body Sketch]
beach call-000.jpg

[Hair Placement]
beach call -00.jpg

[Basic form of Girl]
beach call-0.jpg

After I get the basic parts of the picture done, I can move onto details, by adding shading, highlights, lighting, folds in the clothes, and editing the pose.
beach call---------.jpg

[I made lighting adjustment and details in teeth.]
(After this picture the girl starts changing more, I turned out actually liking how she looked here better than the end product. I may go back to this version of the girl on another day and remake her from here, but anyway, I digress. Back to the process)
beach call--------.jpg

[ I added blush to the face and highlights in the hair]
beach call------.jpg

[I decided the girl was better scaled up]
beach call-----.jpg

beach call----.jpg

[Starting to add more highlights and smoothing out the skin]
beach call--.jpg

[More lighting and detail correction]
beach call.jpg

[More cleanup- the lips are fuller, teeth more detailed and slight changes to nose and eyes]
beach call000000000.jpg

[Fixing the eyes and making more details on the nose]
beach call000000.jpg

[More cleanup and adding details]
beach call00000.jpg

[Smoothing out lines and adding lighting and shades]
beach call00.jpg

[Final Version- very different from the original style I started in]
beach callfin.png

Do any of you find you change style drastically as you make a picture?
Part of the reason this changed so much also probably has to do with how long of a break I took before finishing.
I would lover to hear your thoughts~

Anyway, until next time...

Cheers!

mascots.jpg

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kyu10official/
Deviantart: https://peore.deviantart.com/
Tumblr: https://peore.tumblr.com/
Grapholio: http://www.grafolio.com/creator/detail.grfl?creatorId=kyu10

Sort:  

What a fabulous illustration. The way you have captured the highlights makes the eyes and hair just come alive. You have some serious talent :) My Master (@markangeltrueman) sent me over to take a look and tell you that this has been re-steemed on the @steemsearch blog and i've given it my seal of approval

CuratorSealOfApproval.png

This post was upvoted by curie and it's trail as a result of a submission to the guild by @markangeltrueman. Curie is a curation guild which finds and upvotes high-quality posts by new and undiscovered members of the Steem community. View the blog at @curie

kaomoji_set_2_41_67_by_megaman5000-d7dmc89.gif Oh wow!! Thank you so much!!
I really appreciate your support
Gold star for you
pride_shooting_star_by_king_lulu_deer-dbbyp23.gif

light_cherry_blossoms_a_by_diegovainilla-darqav1.gif()light_cherry_blossoms_b_by_diegovainilla-darqd00.gif

This is greaaaat!! 🌹🌹🌹 😸
Found you on SteemArtists discord channel 😁
Maybe you can try for a GIF showing the progress ✌️
Following, resteemed and upvoted!

Thank you so much!
I love the Discord channel~ I hope I can manage my time well enough to go on there often.
Hahaha, I was thinking of making a video of the process xD but a gif would probably be easier and less time consuming. Thanks for the idea. I will keep that in mind for the next piece I work on.

Congratulations @kyu10, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 12168 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3607.16. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

OMG, Thank you so much.
xD That is so amazing!

this is so anime which I love. It reminds me of those Japanese anime on tv where I had to go back home in a hurry so I couldn't miss those anime tv programs. Ahh those were the days. great illustration and colors too. Two thumbs up! Cheers! Have a good one! :)

Oh wow! Thank you so much ^^ I am glad you think so highly of my art.
Those shows on tv were the best kaomoji_set_1_9_19_by_megaman5000-d7d8f5d.gif
I hope you have a good one too!!
Cheers!
kaomoji_set_2_42_67_by_megaman5000-d7dmcgj.gif

This process is so cool and i love the background ^^ The render is soft, nice to look ! Congratulations !

This is amazing to watch your artistic process unfurl to the final result. It's really quite inspiring to see so many talented artists in this new platform.

Thank you so much~
Yes, I agree, I am having a fun time looking for new artists on my spare time ^^

Wow, this is really nice. The lighting is really atmospheric.

kaomoji_set_2_67_67_by_megaman5000-d7dmnjg.gif
Thank you~ I am glad you like my lighting
light_cherry_blossoms_j_green_by_diegovainilla-dbe6k84.gif

Wow Amzing

kaomoji_set_2_52_67_by_megaman5000-d7dmh2e.gif Thank you!

I love how you can see the exact moment she turns in to an anime character!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29