Why write? ...Why create anything at all?

in #art6 years ago

Writer's’ block.

Imposter syndrome.

Rejection.

Starving artists.

These ugly symptoms of fear present themselves in various ways. Every creative person is familiar to some degree with at least one.

Are these personal flaws? Do they present a lack of discipline? In The War of Art, Steven Pressfield speaks to these obstacles as necessary attributes of the creative process. He overcomes with a commitment to the art- to sit and work, even when it feels like that’s all it is...work.

I’m starting to see a new way to look at these dilemmas. Rather than overcome, maybe we can avoid them completely? Perhaps they are born from a focus on the wrong objectives.

Would writer’s block present itself if the writing didn’t have to be good? What if conveying an important story wasn’t necessary? What if you wrote because the only important part of writing was the act of writing?

Would you suffer from Imposter Syndrome if you just admitted, right up front, that you’re not an expert in anything? That you can never, in fact, know all there is to know about anything? Every individual on this planet has a unique perspective. You’re certainly entitled to whatever opinion you have, even if many disagree- even if you’re objectively wrong.

Would you consider it rejection, if you weren't creating for an audience, and no one read your blog? What if you were not trying to reach anyone? What if your art wasn’t meant to elicit a response in others? Would the critics even have a voice in your head?

If your food budget was met through menial means that afford you the time and focus for art, would it matter if you were ever paid for your creative endeavors?

Maybe. Just maybe- your art only needs to matter to two lives...yours, and the life of the art itself.

But, the ironic yet seemingly universal principles at play here will likely result in higher quantities, more meaningful work, greater confidence, impactful art, and prosperous ideas, if the focus is on none of those things. Just your own selfish desire to be the one who creates this thing.

If the word “selfish” bothers you, think of it as generosity to yourself and your muse.

That might be the only audience you need to cater to.

Of course, if you end up creating something of value to others- cool. But let’s just treat that as a pleasant potential side-effect, not a necessary outcome.

If you get this message, if it resonates with you, great.

If not, I don’t care.

My ideas may never make me rich. But I’ve had enough of seeing them come and go...unmaterialized. No fear of failure if the goal isn’t "success". The objective is just to manifest the ideas. The results are wholly out of my control.

This article is not likely to go viral. It’s not my best work either. So? I wrote this for myself anyway. I needed to hear myself say it.

My current drawing doesn’t have to turn out great. It just needs to be drawn because I need to draw it.

That song I’m writing...will never be as good as I wanted it to be. But it will exist. Because I will sing it.

Because I can create, I will.

The creation is reason enough.

page-break-clipart-18.jpg

A couple of books that helped to inspire this post:

Sort:  

One of the things I love about Steemit is the ability to hone my craft as a writer by experimenting and trying things I might not have on other platforms. The money's just a side-effect.

The big truth of life is that creating almost anything is far superior to not creating it. Doing something to put value into the world, no matter how minuscule that value is, beats not putting value into the world every last time.

I like your way of thinking (and Pressfield's too) that 'success' is the wrong goal to seek. If it finds us, then fantastic. Great. We lucked out. 'To finish' is a much easier goal than 'success', and to create with that mindset, that we just need to get it done because if we don't then no one else will, hopefully ensures a steady stream of effort. :)

I agree with you. Thank you for resteeming the nice post. there are lots of people whose goal is making money. how nice to think that the money is just a side-effect.

Excellent!

I enjoy this format, I may have to steal it from you.

There's another book along these lines. "The Obstacle is the Way" by Ryan Holiday. I don't particularly like what I'll call the standard propaganda about the "Great Men of History" but I do like Edison's response to his workshop going up in flames. "Go get your mother! You'll probably never see another fire like this in your life!"

In any case, the window into your thinking is appreciated.

Thanks Mike, I have that book sitting on my shelf just have yet to get to it.

Feels good to be back!

I'm glad you wrote this article. It helps me see things from a different perspective. It encourages me to write for fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 154 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64