Drawing Flowers

in #art6 years ago

20180813_135612 (1).jpg


I don't normally make posts on Steemit about art work that I've created, but today I thought I'd give it a try. I'm not an artist by any means. In fact, I rarely like my own artwork. However, art doesn't have to be perfect and it isn't always about the finished product. Art is about expressing yourself and enjoying the process of creating. I personally believe that everyone has a creative side and that anyone can produce art. So with that in mind I figured I'd share the process of how I created some flower artwork. It's a super simple method that anyone can do. I hope you enjoy :)


1 (1).jpg

The supplies that I used for this project are paper (obviously), soft pastels- which are very similar to chalk, a soft pencil (I used a 6B pencil), and an eraser.


2 (1).jpg

I started by first coloring in the centers of the flowers in black. These can be spaced randomly on the page, just try to envision how big you want the overall flower to be. They can be whatever size and shape that you like.


3 (1).jpg

Next I colored a yellow ring around the black center. I also added some orange to give it a bit of depth. Just anywhere will do.


4.jpg

Next I drew some basic flower shapes and colored them in. These don't have to be perfect by any means. Just throw some squiggly lines surrounding whats already on the page.


5 (1).jpg

6 (1).jpg

More basic flower shapes colored in. I try to make them all a little different and try to draw them facing different angles, and at different stages of bloom - like you would see in nature. It's not really an exact science of anything. My attitude is "Meh, close enough." lol


8 (1).jpg

Next I added some darker shading to the petals along with some highlights. I'm not great with adding light or shadows to drawings, so I basically just guestimate where i think the light and shadows would be. This style or art is pretty forgiving in that it doesn't really matter what you do as long as you get some added color in there to give it depth.


7 (1).jpg

Next I used my finger to blend in the colors. Like I mentioned previously, these pastels are basically chalk so they blend very easily. They also make a mess and get everywhere. Your hands get full of color in a matter of minutes so you have to be careful not to make dark smudges across the page.


9 (1).jpg

10 (1).jpg

Next I added the stems using two different brown colors and some yellow. I blend them as I go. I noticed that the bottom of the page seemed a bit too empty so I added a leaf to one of the stems. I don't actually know if this type of flower (I think they are poppies?) has this type of leaf - but what-ev.


11 (1).jpg

In this picture I added another un-bloomed stem near the top of the page. I felt that this area was also a bit empty.


12 (1).jpg

This is where it gets a bit interesting and fun. I like to outline all of the objects and create the flower petals using a soft pencil like a 6B (or something similar). I don't really plan out where the lines will be in advance, instead I just kind of follow the natural lines in the color and try to guess at how a petal would actually look. I think that this overall step really changes the look of the picture and makes it appear more complete.


12 (2) (1).jpg

Lastly, I erase all of the smudges from the pastels using a white eraser. The pastels smudge like crazy so its impossible to get the page fully clean but it doesn't really matter. The smudges add some character to the overall look.


20180813_135612 (1).jpg

I find that everything looks better in a frame. I'm not actually going to hang this up in my house but to demonstrate, I taped the artwork to the outside of a picture that's currently hanging up in our kitchen. I personally think that it looks better in a frame.

And that's it. The artwork is complete! Normally when I make a picture like this, I hate it the first go around. But instead of giving up and tossing it away, I stand back and try to figure out what I don't like about it and what I would change. Then I make another picture and sometimes another. I find that the pictures tend to get better each time I do them so I highly recommend drawing the same picture multiple times.


Thanks for Reading!

Sort:  

I love how it looks like a flower party, with their mouths to sing is the black centers. Random thought that popped in my head.

Thats funny but Yeah I see what you're saying hahaha :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @leaky20, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

that's awesome. Thanks for your support :)

Simply beautiful... Nice color combination

Thank you. I appreciate it :)

You're welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76