Beginning to End - the Process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

If we break things down into smaller steps, even complex processes can seem achievable. As kids, we're given paints, pens or pencils to create with, and we just go for it. Usually we make our outlines and then fill in the spaces. It was simple and fun.

Time goes on, and we become aware the artwork of others and wonder how they do it, then wonder how we can do it. It is at this point, that for most people the art journey stops, when they give up in the face of apparent complexity. Even for those of us who persist beyond this point, it can be years before we discover or are taught time tested methods of building up images.

You can see I've marked out the image on a prepared canvas, using a grid. However, my gridding makes use of diagonal lines. I have found this be far more intuitive for orientating the image. For me, using a straight square grid resulted in things not quite matching up or looking natural.

I use a pastel pencil to make the marks. Some people use a fixative so that it does not move when paint is applied. Graphite should be avoided because it is lubricant and does not bond with anything.

With the first application of paint, I am working in a wash of one colour, oil paint thinned out with turpentine. Some people might even use acrylics at this point. However for me, the turps thinned paint dries in a satisfactory time. It has the added advantage, that with more turps applied, it can still be move for a little longer.

I work with a limited palette based on earth tones. It is amazing the range of colours that be created from these.

The painting is then blocked in over the original wash sketch. Once that is done, I can move on to transitions and finer adjustments in colour and contrast to balance out the overall image.

While signing the painting might usually be the last step, framing it really gives it that added finish.

That's a quite a brief summary of the steps involved. Of course there are many more in between, but my purpose is to write a blog post, not a book... yet. ;-)


I have prints of this painting available on my RedBubble store.

"At the Centre of it All", Leo Plaw, 24 x 30cm, oil on canvas
Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Just spectacular... I just cant find words to describe how marvellous is it...

Thank you very much @wilku! =)

Whoa so lovely...
@leoplaw your drawing is so APPEALING
Wish i can enroll under you for tutor in drawing

Hi @godswill! That is always possible. Subscribe to my newsletter for workshop news.
http://leoplaw.com/painting-workshops/

But, if you have other requirements, let me know.

Love the concept. As space lover this would look great with nebulas and stars I'd Imagine.

Cheers @igster! =) Might be something to consider.

Awesome painting! I did a three year class in fine arts in 2010-2012, and I also used the grid method. Very effective. I am still busy with acrylic, but wish to move on to oil paint. Thank you for sharing! Hopefully my work also look as good as this!

Hi @fermentedphil! You could always dip your toe into oil painting by doing your underpainting in acrylic and then the final layers in oils.

I am following a couple of painters on instagram that uses that technique! I will try it :). The problem is just I have a fear of drawing/painting the last couple of years because I stopped for a while to study philosophy. I just need to get into it again somehow!

Do you want to know the number one, that fastest route to learning painting?

F*ck it up! Let it go. Play. Do not set out to make masterpieces. Enjoy the process.

Then the magic happens. ;-)

Very very true! I will go out and F*ck it up :D.. maybe the fucked up painting will become my own masterpiece 8)

Na na na... forget the word or concept of masterpiece even exists.
Just go do it. =)

You see how my brain works.., Sometimes you just have to rewire the brain. Tomorrow or next day I am going to buy a canvas and begin :D

So, did you purchase that canvas and begin? =)

Oh, that's gorgeous! your style is so well defines, i can always spot your work on steemit

Thank you @ankapolo! Yes, I guess my artwork has my finger prints all over it. =)

Interesting work, and I want to call the painting "the infinity of intelligence"

Thank you @magnata! I enjoy hearing other thoughts on my work. =)

wow it's a fantastic painting @leoplaw

I admire your patience, devotion and intuition! How can you "see" such a complex image and put it into color, stage by stage, dot by dot, one brush after another!
You couldn't have chosen a more spot-on picture for this post! The imagination-cyclone going on in the artist's mind and how the final piece lies in the center of complete peace, the eye of the cyclone! The eye of the artist that visualizes wonderful sights when there is a creativity storm raging in their mind!
Wonderful!!!

Thank your Ruth! There is a certain amount of growth my initial image goes through from conception to the final physical work. So it takes a life of its own as certain amount of happenstance occurs.

Wow!! Glad to see you're continuing to be AWESOME!

Informative and creative post which is easy for the non initiated to glean worthwhile insight into how an artist layers up an image. The composition appeals to me as a bit of a thinker myself. Great post xox

Great! I was hoping I could unveil a bit of the mystery of painting for non-artists. =)
Do you ever feel your head sometimes disappearing in a cloud or firestorm of thougts @ldacey-laforge?

Often :) ! My spirit guides are often telling me to just 'BE' and surely despair as I despair and over complicate things - haha poor buggers! xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78