How Does It End?

in #art6 years ago


Maybe you were wondering how it ended. A few days ago I posted the beginning, but I had a life, a weekend outside of Steemit. So finally here is the finished drawing.



I have been so focused on a larger painting this past month that there has been no time for smaller artworks or drawings. I really started to miss being able to regularly finish and start a new artwork. It has become quite addictive. 

The larger painting is still not finished, but it is waiting in the corner of the studio for some more attention. But for now, expect to see me post more regularly again as I return to the smaller format artwork.



Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Echoing the sentiments on how well your choice of paper color enhanced the mood. I'd also like to point out how expressive you made this. I was surprised at how little facial detail there was when I started to really look at this piece - there's so much emotive power to it, yet you managed to convey most of it just through the pose, composition, and color. Really neat to study as well as look at.

Thank you @see.feel.write!
The lack of detail in cetain areas is something I'm just starting to put into practice. It was something that I was failing on for a long time when attempting to render something realistically. Each of us has a brain that is wonderfully equiped to filter the vast amount of input our senses feed it, otherwise we'd be lost in the details of life. Mind you, in certain situations that has its downside as well. However for the artist, it is a huge bonus. Because the imagination of the viewer will always be greater than the skill of the artist, and will render all of the superfelous details if provided the correct visual prompts. Therein lies the magic of painting. It is a visual slight of hand, working very much as a stage magician trick does. Look over there, while I do this over here, and hey presto, the illusion unfolds.

It's been really interesting to see this put into practice, thank you for sharing it with us.

Beautiful work! Great shading. I know that battle between easy small ones and time and energy consuming works that never feel like it will be finished soon...

Thank you Sander! I have really been enjoying the return to the small works. I'm formulating a battle plan for the large piece that is still in the corner. I have to resolve it as there is so much potential.

Yeah it gives satisfaction you kind of lack when working on something big, you only see what you still need to do or parts that kind of blocking creativity because you get stuck...I also do smaller pieces to test out things or to learn what I could use for the bigger ones.

True you need to isolate parts and finish those otherwise it feels really overwhelming. Really hope you will have a battle plan and finish the piece :) Sometimes posting a work in progress can also give some extra fuel when people get excited.

Works in progress are fine up until a point. Once you are close to finish, posting it can be confusing for your social media audience and lessen the impact I feel.

That's true but maybe a small part and not the whole painting.

hmmm... yes, if the work is large and detailed enough.

good one - makes me think about going to the gym ;)

And did you move beyond thought to action? =)

hmmmmmm - lets start slow ..... getting out of my easy chair first

Ooops! The refrigerator is calling! =)

I love the choice of the blue paper - it enhances the feeling of solitude.

I like to mix and match the paper colour before I start, as you noted, it can really add an emotive feel to the work.

divine process, great blue feel, love your lines.

Cheers Adida!

Amazing!
That's why I always do at least a sketch a day and call it a 'done piece' even if it might not seem that way. It's important to my sense of accomplishement and it's a good break from the larger pieces we are always working on.
I'm still trying to finish up the piece I shared in bits, it's a process.
Glad to see you back and looking forward to your smaller works!

Thank you Donna! I started doing a few Brague each day to exercise and train my drawing skills.
I'll have to pop over to your profile and see what you've been up to since I haven't been around lately.

@leoplaw Nice artpiece and great description of your thought process. Thanks! Looking forward to your next one. Upvote to support~

Thank you Kat! And an upvote for your comment. =)

Thanks! Looking forward to your new posts! If you have time come visit mine and always happy to hear feedback of my artwork...:)

Beautiful, @leoplaw <3 The way you conjure the human anatomy, how it moves, how it twists, how it rests..... is simply amazing * ___ *

I also love how you shade, the light and the shadow really accentuate the figure's depth <3

Thank you @veryspider! The movement and dynamic is all thanks to the models. I specifically select poses that are more expressive than the standard. I'm still working on my shading. I've been putting a great deal of study into classical approaches and that of other artists I appreciate.

Congratulations sir, your post is great
Thanks for sharing this

Beautiful piece of art
loved the theme

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95