Oil Painting: Bear Skull

in #art6 years ago

Hi Steemians! I finished another oil painting! This is my second attempt at oil painting, but I am pretty happy with what I did and I learned a lot.

29FA24E6-7BCD-4514-990A-2D11FA931051.jpeg

For this painting I chose one of the bear skulls that are in the shop (we have a whole shelf). I chose this because, even though there is a lot of challenging detail, its a monochromatic piece so I didn’t have to worry about color schemes or too much paint mixing. Skulls are also very popular subject matter in the tattoo industry, so it was just extra practice. I feel like skull paintings are just classic and timeless as well. I feel like you can never have to many skulls! Also, my friend asked me to help her learn to paint. I am still just learning myself, but I can show her materials and how to clean up, which I feel is half the battle of being a painter!

B3B2EBEF-C2AB-4B1C-9A94-220E4A58007B.jpeg

7DCB570D-39A6-422D-BFEE-7BF79D5EE60E.jpeg

My friend wanted her skull to be in the desert, because that’s where you find skulls.... no matter that you probably won’t find a bear skull there. But hey, it’s art! And you can do what you want, right?

We both had slightly different views of the skull, of course. I started with a pencil sketch on the canvass, and then added my grey background, wanting to keep it simple. I blocked in the shape of the skull with a little white, mixed in black for different hues, and a little ocher to add depth.

F0EC26CC-31E6-40B9-A828-34B7FFEAA712.jpeg

At this point the paint was very wet and I didn’t want my whites of the skull mixing in with the grey and black of the background. I left the painting alone for a little over a week until it was dry enough to work with.

80AABF84-A51D-4C45-9DB0-6471E65F8291.jpeg

After the paint was dry enough to work over, I refined my skull shape a little and started adding more detail. The shading wasn’t really dark enough, the image looked too flat. So I had to add in way darker values and it made the painting a lot more dramatic.

B91436E1-ACCA-495A-8C4E-E806542FFBF3.jpeg

8DF5B710-88C0-4D64-B5E1-AD92CEFA36E2.jpeg

Finally I got to the point where I was in danger of actually ruining the whole thing. Half of painting is knowing when to stop, I think.

AB800B93-4C72-4405-9A07-35BFE90FD687.jpeg

The piece still isn’t signed yet. I will do that in a week when it’s dry. I am really enjoying this medium. Tattooing is very strict, no room for error. Oil painting is so loose, I can do whatever I want, and I only have to please myself. It’s the same reason I enjoy sculpture and ceramics. Doing other forms of artwork keeps me sane!

Thanks for stopping to take a look and I hope you have enjoyed my progress in oil painting. If you would like to see my first attempt at oil painting check it out here. Stay tuned for more!

4B7A4F49-AB8A-47B2-9EA0-2CD04FC7D9F1.gif

Sort:  

Hey Thanks!

Very well done! You may have just started, but you definitely have a talent for this medium. 🙂

Thanks lady! I love pretty much anything that doesn’t have to be so damn perfect!

Well it turned out ok. I like it. I didn't think bear skulls would look like that. 😁

Thanks :) We have a lot of skulls and specimens at the shop. The shop founder used to run Gonzaga University’s natural history department, and he also goes to a lot of estate sales. Every once in awhile a client might gift him some kind of animal specimen as well, so there are lots of interesting things to draw or paint around the shop :)

Great idea! I like your thought behind it. Check my post as well

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 50 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 21 times. You've received 73 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 53.00% and Bot: 12.30%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62