Petroglyph Inspired Tattoo

in #art6 years ago

Hi Steemians!

So I was in Hawai’i not too long ago and I had the opportunity to do a guest spot with the crew at Pa’u Tattoo in Haleiwa, on Oahu’s North Shore. My friend Daniel is an avid hiker, and wanted something representing his love of hiking and Hawai’i. I had the chance to go to the Big Island several years ago and did a short hike out to a petroglyph site. I thought combining a petroglyph pattern with a waterfall inspired by Daniel’s own photos would make for a really cool tattoo! Here is the petroglyph I used, and the finished tattoo!

8918DCC8-4E07-449C-8C09-4DA741E45358.jpeg

C6E4B2FC-3BB0-4DDA-AA0D-3DF2AE3D030C.jpeg

There is a reason this form of artwork has survived thousands of years, and I find myself looking to the past for a lot of my inspiration. I often reference rock art, wood carvings, and other forms of indigenous creations. If you would like to see another rock carving inspired artwork, take a look at this. I am currently working on a ‘wish list’ book of designs that I would like to tattoo on people, and I will be including designs inspired by indigenous artwork and artifacts, so come back soon and take a look!

803E791D-AE38-4270-9BF1-57542D127833.gif

Sort:  

Did you see the post I tagged you in? Don’t forget to check your “replies” section every now and again! Miss You! Xoxo @heatherthebard

Huh, no I didn’t! 😕 I think my app is being wonky, it misses some of my tags!

Miss you, too! Xoxox 🙂

I just found it!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68