Linco's Inktober2019! Day #2 and Day#3

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hi again!

I'm wondering if I should blog each day for each drawing, I feel like I'm good at talking about the problems I run into when doing each inktober piece but I'm guessing it'll get repetitive REAL soon. Let me know what you think.

Anyways, regardless I didn't post yesterday since I was AWAY at school, and probably tomorrow because of extracurriculars, but I still find a quiet place to hide and do my inktober drawings during breaks...

Here I'll post my day 3 first because... I'm more proud of it.

IMG_20191003_132254.jpg

The word of the day was "BAIT"

This was the first image that popped into my head haha, just two fisherman pretending to be fish to lure in their catch... but they ended up actually being fish.

So I liked this idea a lot and wanted to get it right from my mind to paper, I did a lot of thumbnail sketches to see if the composition would work.

IMG_20191003_140218.jpg
And these are obviously super rough maybe a few seconds or minutes each, but they help consolidate the idea.

My other problem was... since I'm doing this in brush pen, how am I going to draw the water? So I did a few rough plan outs on the same messy page. IMG_20191003_140228.jpg
Rough planning for the water

Honestly, I liked the top one, but I went with the bottom BECAUSE, I wanted to show splashes near the boat. This is a visual problem, if the water is all dark, it's hard to get those droplets to read. I'm still wondering if I made the right choice but that's okay! I'm just glad I got to experience that problem because now I feel like I learned something!

All that work for a very amateur drawing.. haha, but I've always heard to trust the process! So it's good to get experience planning, doing, checking it over, and acting on what you learned.

I'll end off with my day 2 Inktober which I kind of rushed yesterday. The word was "mindless!"

IMG_20191002_234029.jpg
I hope you can see the spider in her head... the shape didn't read well because a tangent was created with the line for the top of the ear, and the bottom of the spider's.... belly? I noticed this today, and fixed it by expanding the spider's belly (since it's in her head in a cutaway composition, it's fine if it goes behind the ear).

Also, in my hurry I blotched the shape of her nose! I could talk more about this one, but I feel like I'd be rambling.

Thanks! See you soon.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It turned out super cute !
The preliminary sketches and studies are awesome! Keep up the good work. 👍🏼

Thank you!! Sorry it's been a while since I've gotten to sit down at my own computer haha

Oooo that spider looks so eerie. Inks are always so tricky to maneuver. Kudos to you for using them 👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! I'm glad it looks that way haha I based it off a black widow spider that I just googled. It was uncomfortable staring at one for reference though.. felt tingly...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99