Linco's Inktober2019! Day #4 and #5

in #art5 years ago

Hello again!

I should be doing my "husky" drawing for day 6, I'll do that after this post - it should be pretty cute if I can execute it right.

Anyways, I'd like to share quickly my Day 4 and 5 and my experience making them! Let's start off with Day 4 - "Freeze"

IMG_20191004_143034_759.jpg
Day 4 - Freeze, a boy excitedly waiting for some hot chocolate.

Honestly this prompt was hard for me, I saw so many amazing posts -- including ones where people drew ice with ink! (It's hard with only black and whites to replicate I feel!). I had a range of ideas: a comic about police saying "freeze" to a slushie addicted bank robber who gets a brain freeze, an ice-type kinda hero, etc, etc. Ended up going for this idea because I'm reminded that I have childhood pictures of me waist deep in snow trying to "help" shovel it.

The main visual problem for this was the perspective, for the hand holding the cup and the arms for the boy.
IMG_20191004_090428.jpg
Here's a quick pencil sketch I did.

I have to say, I took an awkward picture of my hand from below to try and get the hand right. I wanted the boy to be reaching kind of upwards, but not interfere with his face. In the pencil sketch, the arms look particularly awkward so it was a lot of "redoing." The right arm looks out of perspective, and the left arm is too straight that flattens the image.

For day 6, the word of the day was "build"
IMG_20191006_003227_359.jpg
Day 6 -- Build, a girl calmly building a house of cards.

In this image, I took a cheap way out, I initially wanted her to look more focused, with two hands, trying to balance another set of cards... But, the perspective was too difficult for me to get in the amount of time I wanted to spend, so that just shows something I have to work on! I have a book rented from my school library "How to Draw" by Scott Robertson, so I feel will definitely improve on this in the future.

... To be fair, I technically messed up the perspective already with only ONE hand on one card. (The card in hand looks way too big comparing it to the foreshortened cards -- sorry I ruined my own image).

IMG_20191005_233224.jpg
I also did a pencil sketch for this image... because of lack of confidence with ink again haha. You can see I lost a lot of detail in the cards during the inking! I tried using a Tachikawa G nib pen with India ink, but not too experienced with it haha.

Anyways, thanks for reading! I'm glad I got to reflect a bit on these drawings. For everyone doing Inktober, keep fighting! Seeing so many amazing pieces keeps me motivated to stick with it.

Sort:  

I don't think the perspective issue is that big of a deal here. You have a great style. I loved these two

Thank you!!! Haha yeah I'm not beating myself up over it! But it's for sure something I'll work on in the near future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94