Linco's Inktober2019! Day #6 and #7

in #art5 years ago

Okay, I'm back! The first thing I really need to do is -- start working on these Inktober drawings first thing in the morning! I will implement that tomorrow for Day 9 (I still have to finish my night by working on Day 8 - frail).

I think with Inktober and other daily commitments, tackling them on as a priority in the morning is a great way to start the day off on the right foot. Even waking up early before school/work because I know everyone has limited time.

That's how I started my most (personally successful) days, like the Day #3 "bait" drawing.

However, I've been getting sick with the cold season and as a break I binged Kimetsu no Yaiba (demon slayer) manga today (it was worth it).

So anyway, enough about my day let's get into the drawings: Day 6 was "Husky" I had a cute idea as I said in my last post. I like how it turned out despite being the drawing I put the least technical effort into.

IMG_20191006_231125_969.jpg
Day 6 - Husky. I drew the fictitious CORN HUSK HUSKY.

I found myself chanting: "corn husk husky!" Throughout the day under my breath so I knew what I wanted to do. For this drawing I went straight into it from ink for once, I wanted to face my fear of making mistakes so I tried to keep the shapes more simple. Leaving contrast for a detailed corn (which is pretty easy to do, anybody could draw a bunch of rectangles/circles for corn) and a simple husky dog shape.

I said I did not do a pencil rough in, but I did do a bit of very quick planning for composition and just... how a husky looks like.

IMG_20191008_212609.jpg
A quick plan and study of composition and a husky

It's one of those things where if I ask you to draw a certain breed of dog, or even a fortune cookie from imagination -- it's easy to picture in your head but hard to put on paper. Like, where does the black go for a husky? So I had to answer these questions if I was to get my very lame pun-y message across.

Animal anatomy is really cool, and artists like Aaron Blaise who focus on drawing animals and creatures are so inspiring. He has said he used to collect and draw roadkill as a kid!

Anyways, for day 7 the word was: Enchanted

Here's the drawing

IMG_20191008_013826_403.jpg
Day 7 - Enchanted, a witch looks in the mirror to reveal her trueself

As usual, my second drawing of the post is my less focused one. Yesterday was a very abrupt day, I had to last minute change tires for three cars with my family. So I didn't get too creative with this one, I had an idea of drawing kitchen gloves that were enchanted and cleaning dishes on their own, but I figured it would take too long and I wanted sleep.

I did do a pencil sketch for this one, but I drew over it before I took a picture! I will share the progress of thinking about the composition however:

IMG_20191008_212628.jpg
Composition quick sketch to see if it would work

I did two, both with benefits so it was hard to decide. The first one, you could see the real figure and the reflection more accurately. The second, the perspective just seemed cooler, so I went with it -- that's the real reason haha. For rendering, I did this super quick with just smudging the ink with my thumb...

But tomorrow, I'm probably going to buy another waterbrush and try doing something to what Karl Kopinski does -- he's an AMAZING artist. I probably won't do the simultaneous righthand/lefthand inking lol, but you never know! I could be secretly ambidextrous...

See you all soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73