Linco's Inktober2019! Day #8 and #9

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Aww yeah I was way more on-top of it for these two days, I'll keep it up!

Unfortunately, for these two days I don't actually have process pictures because I went straight into it haha. So this will be just a quicker post since I have a lot of school work to do as well.

The first one I'll share is Day #8 which was "Frail"

Here's the image:

IMG_20191009_001431_060.jpg
Day 8 - "Frail" a tough guy stubbing his pinky toe.

I wanted to do a caricature for once, exaggerating certain body parts. I had a hard time coming up with something for "frail" last year, I remember drawing an old weak man for Inktober, so I didn't want to repeat myself.

This image came to mind because... well no matter how tough ya' are ya can't keep a straight face stubbing your pinky toe on a desk. Obviously had to give him a slick back hairdo, camo pants, anchor tattoo, and a scar on his face to give him the tough guy look... maybe a bit over the top.

So drawing males is a lot easier, especially a jaded rough looking guy, because the sharp angles which are easier to do match it. I find drawing attractive female characters much harder because it's a lot more intricate with the shape design (in my opinion). I obviously exaggerated the hand, the face, and the pinky toe haha. This is where knowing the general shapes and planes of the face helped a bit, although I'm no expert -- it also helps tremendously in painting so it's important to know if you ever plan on painting faces.

Anyways, for day 9 the word was: "swing"
IMG_20191009_174644_302.jpg
Day 9 Swing - A child swinging with the help of his monkey friends

This one was surprisingly quick. I did definitely use reference for the monkeys to help me, they're two different species but I just googled "monkey"...

Not too much to say, I did for sure do this in pencil first and my problem was getting the composition in a way that I like. I still don't like it too much because it's a bit "goal posty." What this means is that with the two monkeys and the two trees on each side, the composition can start too look a little "too even" and so natural that it's boring. Like a picture of a goal post. Otherwise, I wanted to show a lot of room beneath the child, just to show how high he is, but it was hard to think of what to put in that space.

Anyways thanks for reading! Onto the double digits tomorrow...

Goodluck with the rest of Inktober if you're following along!

Sort:  

Congratulations @lincone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71