Sound of Autumn and Beginning of Inktober!

in #art5 years ago

Hello!

It's been a long time, I've actually still been doing a lot of art and doing a lot of studying (I have TOO many books to read! So far I really recommend Imaginative Realism by James Gurney, his art is so amazing). However, I haven't felt the desire to write blog posts because school has started.

And in my classes, it's lots of lots of writing about myself as well haha. Lots of self reflective work and opinions on topics, so I've had the feeling that writing blog posts is like a dreaded assignment.

But I wanna change that today! It's the start of October which also means it's also Inktober time! But before I get to that I wanna share the painting I'm most proud of over this long break I've taken from blogging. This one I was inspired to do from my imagination, and it celebrates my favourite season!

crushingleaves.png

Fall! I think I didn't make my message clear enough and that sucks, but I'll do better next time! It's about two genius kids who love the sound of crunching leaves so they built a robot to step on a huge pile of leaves. That's one reason why Fall is my favourite the sound of crunching leaves, along with the nice not too hot but not too cold weather and the beautiful colours.

Too bad where I live, it lasted maybe one week before snow began....

Anyways, since this was from imagination I wish I took a screen picture of when I first started, there was no sketch, I tried a new approach so it was just a splash of colour haha. If I do another in this style I'll be sure to take a screenshot, but it's HARD to build something out of nothing.. you just have to have faith that whatever is in your mind will somewhat come out on the page. Anyway here's the earliest progress shot I did.

autumn.png

You can see, I wasn't thinking of blogging it until almost near the end when it was just a few touch ups with the characters and adding in rendering for the leaves. Also painting on one layer seems to be something I'm getting comfortable with, moreso than creating thousands of layers, but we will see -- still seeing what's right for me!

I will be sure to blog more! Maybe I'll write less so it feels less of an assignment. Although I do try to do this for me to look back and look at my thought process, so idk, I will just do as I feel.

Anyways, SINCE it is October, I am for sure going to participate in Inktober! If you're not sure what that is.. I'm surprised because I'm sure so many artists are talking about it, you might be like "shut up, I've heard this a million times today"... well if so you're gonna hear it again but real quick: draw. everyday. October. prompts. online. traditional (not strict).

So today's word was "ring" and I thought I was going to be very creative... but I looked and like the third post I saw was literally the same idea.. but they did it better. SOO better luck tomorrow.
IMG_20191001_153034.jpg

Sort:  

I love your use of bold colors, I'm going to have a crack at Inktober again this year, maybe I'll manage to get a few themes done :)

Thanks! I actually fall into the bad habit of keeping my colours very neutral a lot of the time, it's something I noticed for this painting as well in the last 10 minutes so I had to adjust saturation/contrast levels haha.

I hope you do! I wasn't able to complete all the days last year, but I'm making it my main priority this year haha. If you're interested there's a discord for steemit artists and some of us are all doing Inktober together.

creativecoin info * CC server invite

image.png

You have been curated by @torico on behalf of creativecoin!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @lincone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I agree with @juliakponsford; your choice of bold colours is superb. I particularly like the misted 'crush' on the robots misted dome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78