Finger Drawing On A Mobilephone: Caricature Sketches I Did On My iPhone 5

in #art5 years ago

0009_.png

It is not always the easiest thing to do to draw or paint using your finger, instead of a stylus on a mobilephone. Your drawing finger tends to get stuck and tired after a while. A small screen size of an iPhone 5 makes the job slightly harder, especially if you have huge hands and fingers. But it is possible! I did it several times in January 2017 when I was out sketching caricatures of random strangers I spotted on the train and at the restaurants. Discreetly, of course.

0009_2.png

After trying out a few different types of styli, including one with a clear disk at the tip of the stylus on my iPad in the past, I found that the finger was the most intuitive and effective human pencil for the drawing job. Well, at least for me. That was before Apple finally came out with an Apple Pencil. For quick sketches like these, my preferred tool from the drawing app is usually the brush as it creates a variation of stroke thickness the way that fits my drawing style. I like it bold and dynamic-looking. The app I used here was Tayasui Sketches app for iOS.

The good thing about drawing with a finger versus using a stylus on your mobilephone, though, is that it does not attract too much attention in a public place while you do your creative thing. Unless, of course, you like an audience.

0009_3.png

What camera did I use to capture those sketches on my iPhone, you may wonder? It was my iPad Pro, which sadly had died sometime last year. My Apple Pencil is now a widow. I am currently iPad Pro-less.

So, have you done finger-drawing on your mobilephone or tablet before? What’s your favourite drawing / painting / sketching app? How’s the experience like? Is there a particular stylus that you use or like? Share your thoughts with me.

Thanks for reading! :)

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me if you would like to see more of my creative works.


https://liyincreative.wordpress.com
https://www.flickr.com/photos/liyin
https://www.instagram.com/liyin_yeo
https://www.instagram.com/liyincreative

Sort:  

I still prefer a mouse, if I'm using laptop... Else will be my pencils and charcoal pencil...

Do you use a Wacom?

Posted using Partiko iOS

No I don't use that, only old fashion laptop with Adobe software...

Photoshop? But how to draw with a mouse?

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are tools that you can use to draw. ;)

Congratulations @liyinyeo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69