Keeping Going with Austin Kleon

in #art6 years ago

I really enjoyed this chat between Danny Gregory and Austin Kleon

I was inspired by Danny's work back when the web was young and blogs were even younger. His blog was an early staple in my RSS reader. And Austin is a great "writer who draws" (it was he who got me back into Lynda Barry's work) who has been seriously thinking about how you keep going, how people keep making stuff day in, day out.

This conversation rambles beautifully but contains some nuggets about Austin's own process. The podcast series that this comes from is really interesting and sketchkon sounds like a perfect trip if one could afford a ticket to Pasadena and if one weren't already heart-committed to Steemfest3!

Sort:  

What a lovely little piece of audio for a Sunday morning! It was timely as well for me: I visited the Picasso 1932 exhibition at the Tate several times this summer and was taken (among many other things) by his output, just in one year. I had been wondering about the input side, filling the well as it is described in the podcast, and this really helps with this, from philosophical ideas about what it's all about and what you're doing when you're creating to some very practical ideas about how you can structure that to make it easy for yourself. I like, especially, the idea of the tiny scratch notebook and how that then feeds into other things. I was reminded a bit of morning pages, as well, although this seems a little more purposeful. So many other gems, too, in it. Well worth listening. Thank you for sharing.

glad you liked it. I've struggled to get back into morning pages this year but this feels do-able.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99