Still Life Study

in #art6 years ago

This is a still life study from this semester. I have included some steps in there to show how I take it from one point to the next. I have learned a lot from this class. One thing that is weird is that this is a fine art course. I'm in the illustration program though. It's weird to me that I may be the only one in the course using oil paints. Everyone else is using acrylic. Now nothing is wrong with acrylic but I would think more fine art students would be interested in using oils given their majors.

20180917_214009.jpg

20180917_211825.jpg

20180917_190258.jpg

This was painted with a limited pallet meaning I really only used black, white, terra rosa, and yellow ochre to paint this. I actually really like using a limited pallet like this. It really forces you to simplify what you see while trying to maintain accuracy.

Sort:  

Great! And why does no one else use oil paints? I think it looks much more noble. I subscribe to you, because for me it is interesting to observe the creative process. I'm a watercolor painter, if you are interested in my works I follow me ;)

I don't know. I like acrylics too but oils just intimidate people I think. I think once you figure out how to get a good paint consistency along with using the proper materials like Liquin in order to smooth out the paints, oils become much easier. Easier than acrylics I think.

Watercolor, now that is something difficult. I prefer gouache myself just because I like the opacity.

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
vmj4b77ww1.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58