[Sketching] iSoul

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I was at a concert Friday night. Throughout the concert I'd look down from my front row balcony seating and saw the bright light of cellphones illuminating faces in the darkness. It looked like human souls were being sucked from their bodies and into the phones.

Which brought about my attempt to draw such a thing. I've been on and off with my sketching the last few years, trying to get back into it, falling off then attempting again - like the bustle of "real" life is my addiction and drawing is the therapy I keep getting off because I think I'm fine without it. I'm not.

The sketch before the inking & shading. My sketch is done on my iPad Pro using the Procreate app. I started with the Sketching - HB Pencil brush which comes with the app.

The souls trapped in phones is a social commentary and a self-reflection of my own habits. Facebook and Instagram are my go-to's and I heavily rely on them as excuses of "not having enough time". I don't have time to sketch and yet I have time to scroll through instagram. I don't have time to read but I have time to look through Facebook. I've notice my feelings in scrolling through feeds as if I'm searching for something, anything, like this is the thing that is suppose to fulfill me.

I then went in with the Inking - Technical Pen brush (which also came with the app) for my darker lines.

At first I imagined this image to be a person with a blank face staring into his/her phone screen with his/her soul looking back scared/trapped trying to get out. I quickly retreated on that idea though, I still need to practice more before that image can become a reality. Right now, the focus is to just sketch. Just do it. Don't worry if it's not perfect, it doesn't have to be perfect. Just do it. Just sketch.

For shading I went back to the Sketching - HB Pencil on it's side. I'm really impressed with how it's like an actual pencil without my hand turning all black. You have to be careful on using brush size though. Last brush was Painting - Nikko Rull to create the background.

Just sketch, gonna be okay, da da doo-doo-mmm. ♫

Sort:  

Oh! What an idea :D I love it ! The soul is trying to get out of the phone ! it is very emotive !! You did wonderfully :) Well done !

Thank you! There's so many different ways to express this, I'm glad it came across.

Hello @lonniedi, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87