You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How The F..K Do I Make Living As An Artist??? Confession Of A Mad Man

in #art6 years ago

There's a rule I have learnt now from a job interviewer that has changed the way I make decision. Before now I was mostly an opportunistic decision maker, jumping into any line that seems to be moving. Recently, I had applied to a company, one of the big four auditing firms. I had actually applied as a management consulting associate but since there was no opening, the company had selected me for the tax advisory unit. Things were tough with me with lots of perceive responsibilities so I needed a job badly and here was one - a high paying one at that. So I did what most youngsters usually do, I jumped in at the opportunity. After scaling through two exams and three interview, I was sitting with the tax partner for the last chit chat interview before I start my job. He asked me two questions at once - he said: James, so what are you most passionate about in life that you would not allow someone take it away from you? Would you be happy after 30years still working in this office as a tax consultant? I sat for five minutes didn't know what to say. Then I stood up and told him to inform me when there's an opening for consulting I don't mind waiting a year. Tax wasn't a bad idea, but that day I learn two questions which I asked myself before joining any line: how passionate am I about this? If I'll be doing this for 30years will I still be happy after the number of years or will I wish for a change? The answer we need are all deep within us -- search deeper.

Sort:  

Man @lordjames your story gave me goosebumps! Such an awesome share! Thanks and respect bro! Totally following you

Thank you @jankasparec. It wasn't an easy decision to make. Lots of my family members and friends criticize me for it today. But deep within me I know I took the right decision. And that's all that matters. Thanks for following me, am just three days old on the Steemit platform.... I know with patience and commitment I'll give my poetry a voice.

Right on bro, way to go! The only voice you are supposed to listen to is the voice of your heart. You know that ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66503.40
ETH 3078.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70