Reeled Silk

in #art6 years ago

We talked about silk reeling a while back in this post. That was my first attempt at reeling silk and I learned some valuable lessons. Last night, we reeled silk for a second time with some really great results. I had no breakage, compared to our first attempt and ended up with a gorgeous strand.

IMAG2703.jpg

I also managed to get a photo of what spent cocoons look like next to whole cocoons. The spent cocoons have lost their opacity as the layers of silk have been reeled away. What is left is a small case made from short fibers surrounding the pupa.

IMAG2711.jpg

We'll have to see what we do with our reeled silk from here!


luthlogobanner (1).png

All photos and text property of @luthvarian

Sort:  

I think it's a very painstaking job! The first time I see the cocoons of silk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68