Panama series: STREET ART AND MURALS IN PANAMA

in #art6 years ago

DSC_1370.JPG

During my last trip to Panama, I found some amazing murals that I wanted to share with you. These first ones I found them in an Argentinian restaurant called Posada Boquetana, located in Bajo Boquete, Chiriqui. There, in the Salon Gardel, you can listen some awesome live music or enjoy a karaoke evening while admiring these beauties.

DSC_1581.JPG

Since I grew up listening to Carlos Gardel's music, you can imagine how thrilled I was to discover these jewels!

DSC_1374.jpg

Unfortunately the Panamanian artist who realized these masterpieces passed away. The pictures don't do justice to these huge murals!

DSC_1369.JPG

Inside the same restaurant/ bar I saw these other artworks. The first one must be a replica of the famous Iguazu waterfall from Argentina. The one below reminded me of the tango and its origins.

DSC_1377.JPG

DSC_1386.JPG

DSC_1388.jpg

I guess that either the painter or the owner loved the iconic Marilyn Monroe as well, since there were five walls honouring her. I loved all of them!

DSC_1391.jpg

DSC_1390.jpg

DSC_1393.jpg

DSC_1396.jpg

DSC_1397.jpg

Throughout my trip I noted that a lot of local businesses use murals as a way of advertisement. I bet you thought of having a Bavarian beer when you saw this one!

DSC_1398.jpg

In Central America and not only, is cheaper to have a local artist paint a mural than in other parts of the world.

DSC_1517.jpg

DSC_1518.jpg

The murals above were on the wall of an Peruvian restaurant while the following two were realized on the walls of a grocery shop and a small convenience store.

DSC_1469.jpg

DSC_1333.JPG

DSC_1519.jpg

DSC_1254.JPG

DSC_1496.JPG

DSC_1096.JPG

DSC_1093.JPG

This monkey mural made me giggle for a few moments.

DSC_1065.JPG

DSC_1067.JPG

I was mesmerized by the richness and diversity of street artwork in Panama! The vibrant colours and the diverse themes brighten the walls of this beautiful country!

DSC_1068.JPG

DSC_1069.JPG

DSC_1070.JPG

Isn't this hummingbird just beautiful?

DSC_1071.JPG

DSC_1053.JPG

I liked these murals representing the indigenous people or parts of their history.

DSC_0972.JPG

DSC_0971.JPG

DSC_0968.JPG

DSC_0951.JPG

It was such a delightful experience to discover so many murals. It felt like everywhere I turned my head there was one!

DSC_0950.JPG

DSC_0938.JPG

DSC_0947.JPG

DSC_0929.JPG

Here are two close up photos of the mural shown above:
DSC_0927.JPG

DSC_0928.JPG

The portrait of this Ngobe little girl was adorable! She looked as if she was part of a fairy tale!

DSC_0908.JPG

DSC_0904.JPG

DSC_0862.jpg

I was lucky to find an artist at work and converse a bit with him. He was surprised to hear that I was interested in showing his artworks on my blog.

DSC_0870.JPG

DSC_0869.JPG

DSC_0868.JPG

DSC_1522.JPG

DSC_1523.JPG

DSC_0840.JPG

DSC_1568.JPG

Although on the streets of Panama City I have stumbled upon a great number of murals, I was not able to take photos of them. In some areas which were not quite safe, I did not dare to take my camera or my phone out of the backpack. I enjoyed seeing them and told myself that there were only for my eyes!

DSC_0564.JPG

DSC_0561.JPG

DSC_0563.JPG

Happy Capitalism was a very subtle one!

I saved for last the inspirational ones: Open your heart and mind! and Learn and you will win!

DSC_0557.JPG

DSC_0556.JPG

DSC_0555.JPG

Which one(s) you liked most from all of the above?


Here are other street art related posts:

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 17

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 16

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 15

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 14

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 13

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 12

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 11

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 10

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 9

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 8

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 7

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 6

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 5

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 4

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 3

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 2

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 1

STREET ART IN OTTAWA

STREET ART IN BULGARIA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself.
If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments,
I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

@lymepoet,

No image-downloading. Arrgh.

This seems to be getting worse.

I SHALL RETURN with something pithy to say. :-)

Quill

I shall wait for your return ;-))

I love these! They really capture the exuberance and vibrancy of Latin America. I think my favourites are the tango ones, because I love that dance - it's so expressive. Years ago when I was living in London a friend asked me to join her for a performance at Sadler's Wells called Tango Argentino. I wasn't really interested, but the tickets were only £5, so I went along. I was astonishingly moved almost to tears by the dancing and the music, and I've loved it ever since!

I can't dance but I do love the music! My parents loved Carlos Gardel and many other old tango singers!

I can't dance either, but I love watching good dancing.

Oh, I thought it was about Buenos Aires at first. Cool street art!

Must have been due to the tango murals ;-)

Dear @lymepoet,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Holy Cow! Those are just great. Incredible diversity and talent exhibited there !

My favorites? Have to be the tango. I've never danced a lick but I certainly admire those that can and the tango is about the height of that genre.

Thank you. There were almost too many to even properly comprehend. Amazing.

The tango ones were my favourite as well!

oh my goodness! So much amazing art there! I really loved the Marilyn Monroe pictures! :D

Street art heaven ;0)

I don't have a lot of time to actually go out and see art like this more often but I enjoy at least looking at it online. After Banksy's stunt last week, I actually have spent a lot of time looking at art online.
You examples are a good addition as I prefer murals depicting actual problems of the communities.
And Panama is on a visit-shortlist.

That was quite a stunt! I am sure you enjoyed seeing the Happy Capitalism mural ;-)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lymepoet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=panama-series-street-art-and-murals-in-panama


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Who painted those walls definitely made a great job!! Very difficult to find my favorite ...:)

I agree, lots of them are just phenomenal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95