STEP-BY-STEP DRAWING with ANIMATION -- How I created "Saneville" with ballpoint pens, fine liners, and white charcoal

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow Steemians!

step8.jpg

Are you like me? Do you ever feel like you are losing your mind? Like your sanity was lost in a big ol' crowd of craziness??!

Well, head on down to Saneville!! Chances are, you'll find it there 😉


Step-By-Step

Here are the step-by-step scans of the progress. I must say, I really enjoyed creating this! 😄

There is also an animated GIF at the bottom of this post that scrolls through each one

STEPS 1-4:

  • These show the progress of filling out and rendering the trippy, humanoid, armless, shaggy-haired elephant man.

STEPS 5-7:

  • These show the progress of filling out the fish and necklace, the sign and the foreground, the wooden post, and also adding some color to the hair and beard.

STEP 8:

  • After filling everything out with ballpoint pens, I went over it again with fine line markers to darken all of the shadows, and really crisp up the outline. Then, I added white charcoal highlights to the entire main elephant(ish) figure, and a few other select areas as well.

  1. step1.jpg

  2. step2.jpg

  3. step3.jpg

  4. step4.jpg

  5. step5.jpg

  6. step6.jpg

  7. step7.jpg

  8. step8.jpg

Let me know what you think! These surreal ballpoint pen artworks are some of my favorite to create.

Hope you enjoyed this!


GIF

Oh, and as promised, here is the animated GIF that I compiled to step through the whole process:

Progress-final.gif


UPVOTE.jpgCOMMENT.jpgFOLLOW.jpgRESTEEM.jpg

My Instagram feed is more up-to-date at the moment. I plan to catch up here on Steemit, but in the meantime, if you'd like to see more, feel free to check it out by clicking this link:
http://www.instagram.com/makanicreative

:)

Sort:  

Wow really awesome looking art... quite a creature! Thanks for sharing with us on Steemit @makanicreative!

Thanks! Yeah it's a weird one for sure... happy to share with the community!

Can I ask, how long have you been on Steemit? And do you have any tips or suggestions for newbies like myself? I see you do a "Resteem Radio Show"... seems like you may have some good tips :)

You can check out the @MinnowSupport Project, a community of over 17,000 Steemians on Discord Chat where you can interact, chat, network, and learn with other members of the Community!

I have been here now for 1 year.

Thanks for the tip! I'll definitely check it out.

Very cool, do you sleep well? Ausom drawing you are gifted keep on keeping on.

I sleep okayyyy...sometimes i sleep well sometimes not so much. Does my art make me seem like an insomniac? haha
Thank you :)

Congratulations @makanicreative! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98