Motion Art Preview: Dodecahedron!

in #art6 years ago

I'm in such a good mood! First, because I sold my EOS today for a very nice % profit... And second, because I've decided to start getting into animation using Mandelbulb 3D and this post represents the beginning of the adventure =).
 
I have done a little bit of animation before, the best example being this video here, but now I intend to dig deeper. I have two missions with regards to this: I want to create feature animations where I fly through amazing fractal mathscapes, and I want to create Motion Art, a term I'm adopting thanks to @whornung (definitely go check out his beautiful work)
 
What form would my Motion Art take? Well, I'm still experimenting so I hope you stick around and discover it with me =) ... Here is my very first experiment:



Dodecahedron

~~
Motion Art: Preview
Size: 320px x 320px

Unfortunately, the original GIF doesn't seem to be working on steemit, probably because of filesize(?), so the above GIF is playing every 2nd frame... Click here to open the original!



“At the age of eleven, I began Euclid, with my brother as my tutor. ... I had not imagined that there was anything so delicious in the world. After I had learned the fifth proposition, my brother told me that it was generally considered difficult, but I had found no difficulty whatsoever. This was the first time it had dawned on me that I might have some intelligence.”

-- Bertrand Russell, The Autobiography of Bertrand Russell


The Creation Process:

 
Using Mandelbulb 3D to make animations is not difficult. The animation window is straightforward: You create a fractal image, set it as the first keyframe, then change the parameters/camera, and set another keyframe, etc - the program then creates all in-between frames automatically. Here is the animation window:

After setting up all your key-frames, you can render a small preview first, to see how it looks, and even save that as a GIF, as I did for this post. Then you hit render and it will render out each frame at the size you specify. It is then up to you to stitch them all together with a program like Blender, to make a video. I plan on doing that soon ;)

And here are 5 bigger resolution images of examples of the kinds of wonderful shapes this set of formulae can produce... I can't wait to continue exploring! ...:

If you'd like a personalised, animated logo or division bar of a fractal nature, I accept commissions... =) ... Between 5 and 10 Steem, depending on the piece. I hope you're all enjoying your weekend!




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Lovecycle" - Poems, 017 | "Sporangia" - Gallery: Fine Art | "Human Nature" - Gallery: Motifs
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Images, Creative Commons License.

Before using bidbots, consider that they are bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =)

Sort:  

Do you want me resteem your post to over 72,500 followers? Go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

So mesmerizing XO

It's really beautiful !

I've got to play around with Mandelbulb 3d a bit :)

I downloaded Xaos recently to play around with fractals more, to experiment with using images from it in my 3D models :)

Can't wait to see what you make next !

Hello @mandelsage, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25