"Sound Garden" | Gallery: Fine Art 🎨

in #art5 years ago

I'm really excited about this post =) And for two reasons:
 
First, because I realised that I have never posted this piece of art anywhere before, though I thought I had already! I honestly don't know why I never put this up. "Sound Garden" was the piece that got me started as an artist.
 
Second, when I was reading the contest post by @ftlob (on Whaleshares), I thought "Woah... Sound Garden would be perfect for this!" and so, this is also my official entry post for the competition.

 
What is the competition about? Well, as they say in their post:

The reason we started this contest, is because we thought it would be awesome to have a contest where music and visual arts come together. Wouldn't it be great to have a soundtrack to go with a painting, drawing or photo and vice versa? Each episode will have two rounds. Round one for visual artists, round two for musicians (of all genres).
 

  • In round 1 (current round), visual artists can submit their piece of art (painting, drawing, photo). Style doesn't matter.
  • In round 2, musicians, bands, DJs or other musical artists can submit their track that fits the art of round 1 well.

So "Sound Garden" is my entry to round one. I feel it is perfect for this contest because as I was making it, I had in mind a kind of topographical map generated by sound waves (thus the title). I imagined that sound itself was generating an entire garden world, much like the way Tolkien's world Arda was created by the music of the Ainur, orchestrated by Eru Ilúvatar.



Sound Garden

~~
Gallery: Fine Art
Max. Print Size: 75cm x 75cm (29.5" x 29.5)"



"Then Ilúvatar said to them: 'Of the theme that I have declared to you, I will now that ye make in harmony together a Great Music. And since I have kindled you with the Flame Imperishable, ye shall show forth your powers in adorning this theme, each with his own thoughts and devices, if he will. But I will sit and hearken, and be glad that through you great beauty has been wakened into song."

-- Tolkien, The Silmarillion

“Then the voices of the Ainur, like unto harps and lutes, and pipes and trumpets, and viols and organs, and like unto countless choirs singing with words, began to fashipn the theme of Iluvatar to a great music; and a sound arose of endless interchanging melodies woven in harmony that passed beyond hearing into the depths and into the heights, and the places of the dwelling of Iluvatar were filled to overflowing, and the music and the echo of the music went out into the Void, and it was not void.”

-- Tolkien, The Silmarillion


Unfortunately, because it was done so far back, I apparently didn't save any progress pics, nor can I even find the original m3i file. But I can share with you a few close-up details =) ... :

~§~

~§~

~§~


And that's it! I hope you all enjoyed seeing my very first piece of art ^-^ ... Also, forgive me for not posting much here on Steemit recently... It is because of a combination of more work hours (which I really needed) and getting involved in the Whaleshares community. Not as simple as just cross-posting, I discovered ;P Bye for now! o/




Thank you for upvoting my post 🌌🌠
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64