DrawDiction #1 | Abracadabra

in #art6 years ago

abracadabra, ab-ra-ka-dab'ra, n. a magic word written so that the letters form a triangle- worn as a charm: any unintelligible spell or charm.

When I was looking for a word on the first page, abracadabra jumped out at me. It took me back to when my sister and I would brandish wooden sticks and yell incantations at each other wishing the other would turn into a mouse. I read a little about each of the words that I draw.

Abracadabra has its roots in Hebrew or Armaic where it is written as avda kedavara and translates to what was said has been done. Ofcourse, my Harry Potter loving teenage self immediately drew the parallel to the death curse avada kedavara and it was more than enough to choose the word to illustrate.

I dug a little bit deeper and found that abracadabra it wasn't always a death curse. The story is that abracadabra was a charm recited repeatedly to ward off evil bewitchment and improve poor health. It would be said over and over again, each time with the last letter removed until only the letter a remained. This would be written on paper and worn as an amulet or sewn around clothes.

The allure of something magical is what attracted me to the word. I was sold when I saw an image of the charm in Hebrew. Here's my abracadabra for the first #drawdiction.

abracadabra manouche.jpg

Sort:  

Muy interesante. Ni tenía idea de lo que era la palabra abracadabra, suponía que era un invento de algún escritor sin ningún sentido sino su sonoridad para un cuento en particular

I had to put that through google translate to understand but I got there finally! Yeah, I thought it was made up for the longest time too. It's interesting to learn where some words come from.

Yeahh it is very interesting !!

you have very good lettering ... will be nice to see more like this post ,, see Hebrew words and their meaning..

LEHODOT

Thank you! My lettering is actually what I think is the weakest. You'll see in subsequent posts that I try to make them different, I experiment with different kinds of fonts but I'm never happy with it.

What's the meaning of Lehodot? Can't seem to find online.

https://sites.google.com/site/mihebreoivritsheli/listado-de-verbos-hebreos-vocalizados-y-transliterados-al-espanol/agradecer---ser-agradecido---dadas-las-gracias-admitido---confesado---declarado-haber-hecho-algo---lehodot---hudah---lhwdwt---hwdh

I translated it here, I am a Spanish speaker and I tried to give thanks in transliterated Hebrew.
but maybe it means something else ...

:)

How do you do the lettering? Do you have a graphics tablet?
I translated it here, I am a Spanish speaker and I tried to give thanks in transliterated Hebrew.
but maybe it means something else ...

:)

How do you do the lettering? Do you have a graphics tablet?

To make it in ink you need concrete tools like wedge pens

Ahhh! Okay.

The lettering I just do freehand with a black pen. I don't have a gaphics tablet, unfortunately.

What are wedge pens?! Sounds like I need to get my hands on them!

if you have different tools, such as TOMBOW type markers or if you want to do it with ink the wedge feathers ... according to which tipofgrafia ...

you know, search in saint google

If you ever want to buy a tablet, you need to detect the inclination of the pencil ..

if it does not detect the inclination you can do it too, but it will be more frustrating ...

but the important thing for me is the emotional ... and your collages have emotion

so congratulations

Thanks for that image - I converted the English letters to numbers, I need to try it with Hebrew gematria. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65