Shu Habibi: Love+Hummus

in #art6 years ago

For my first post on Steemit, I thought it only made sense to introduce myself by introducing my drawings.

About a year ago, I was living in Lebanon and met the love of my life. It's been an incredible journey so far, as we are both exceedingly dorky, cheesy, awkward people. A couple of months into the relationship, I would sometimes tease him with cutesy doodles in reference to little jokes with our relationship. It was pretty easy to make fun of us, because as he is Lebanese and I am American, there were often a lot of cultural differences or miscommunications that are always present in multicultural relationship.

My boyfriend surprisingly liked the comics a lot, so when I finally had to leave Lebanon to go back to the States, these cheesy little doodles and short comics would be the way I would cheer him up whenever he missed me.

IMG_1910.JPG

We also loved to follow Catanacomics on Instagram, because we often found that her comics were a scarily accurate description about us as a couple as well. One day, after sending the fourth comic to my boyfriend, he asked me, "Why don't you do your own comics on Instagram as well? It can be like the Lebanese version of Catanacomics."

At first I hesitated, because these comics were pretty personal between us. Also because, drawing doodles and comics had always been such a private thing for me, one that I rarely shared. I mean sure, I had always entertained dreams of being an illustrator or creating my own graphic novel, but it was more of a silly daydream than anything serious. I figured, anyway, all I had was my cheesy jokes and prismacolor markers. No way I could hold a candle to some of the cool, digitally created artwork of some of my favorite Instagram comic artists.

But my boyfriend kept encouraging me, so I decided, "You know what, why not?"

And thus Shu Habibi ("What's up, Dear?") was born.

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

Considering I'm the type that often gets excited about projects and then drops them, I'm pretty proud that I've kept it going so far. However, there's definitely still a lot of room to grow. So I'd love to use this platform to share our cheesy Arabic love story, as well as to get feedback about how I can improve them. I hope you enjoy!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @maplecrow!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and love the comics and I make comics too and this is very cool and exciting and funny and I love to draw and joke too and that is why I love this so much.

Welcome to Steemit finally! You were like the first person I thought of when I decided to promote Steemit to Mindvalley. Glad you can finally join us.

Looking forward to more of your comics. I think Steemit will be a great place for you to not just start building a following for your comics, but also to meet other artists and also start getting feedback on your art and content if you ever want to publish your work in the future

Welcome to steemit Katie :) Yes keep that funny love story coming we need to be reminded of happiness and love every now and then I think you have chosen a great platform to show this

Congratulations @maplecrow! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63814.67
ETH 3194.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90