You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Latest Still Life Painting (“Bagel & Butter”) and Its Development.

in #art5 years ago

Oo bagle and butter, both are my favourites :) Your use of a black background is really brilliant in making the subjects stand out and they look realistic as with the rest of your artwork. What is the drying medium that you used? This piece must have taken some time that you needed to put the butter back into the fridge :) but it was all well the effort. Congrats on another curie vote :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

@marblely Thank you! :) To be perfectly honest, the cloth for the background and ground plane is actually a deep warm green. I still have a yet to master the ability to take pictures of my own work ;)

The medium I used was Old Masters Italian wax medium. It's kind of like maroger but without the mastic varnish in it. I like using it but I wouldn't recommend using it all the time.

This painting I was able to finish in a few days. But as far as the butter is concerned, I just had to make sure to put it back in the fridge at the end of the day.

And thanks again! Nothing like a Curie vote to lighten up my steemit efforts! :)

Oh sorry... hehe it is ok, the background still looks good :)
Ah.. and here I was, thinking the medium would be some kind of fan or dryer :D I am guessing that the Old Masters Italian wax medium would dry almost quite instantly like a burnt candle wax? Why do you not recommend using it all the time? Oh I forgot to mention earlier that I love the sesame seeds on the bagel :)

There's no need for an apology. Let alone that our brains are wired to see value before temperature or color. And with that being said I still have much to learn :)

But no I don't believe that's the case. If I were to guess I would say that you're thinking about it too literally. While granted yes there is an amount of wax in it, for the most part there are these ingredients they mine out of the earth that I can't remember their names at the moment, but they react to the pigment and oil in the paint on a molecular level. These ingredients speed up the "drying" time by further exposing the paint to oxygen, in which increases the rate of oxidation.

I recommend only using it when you absolutely have to, and that even depends on the kind of picture you're wanting to paint. As even with most types of mediums, it has a tendency to yellow. And chances are that if you're working on a relatively high key painting with lots of light, you're gonna notice a difference.

Oo ok.. Yes I have to admit, I am thinking about it very literally :)
I am so grateful to be able to appreciate and to learn from amazing artists like yourself on this platform. A year ago, I would never have guessed that I could be conversing with so many artists and needleworkers and professionals in their respective areas and now, I am able to do that on Steemit. It makes more sense now that you explained the science behind the wax, reaction on a molecular level, thus speeding up drying time by means of exposure to oxygen. Thank you so much for the time and knowledge that you share. Something I will never have known :) I wish you a happy, happy Sunday there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85