🎨 My painting - Acrylic on canvas (first time using palette knife!). 🎨

in #art5 years ago

I've always loved painting but haven't done anything in more than 6 years!!!
Looks like every single day there are of too many other things you do, too much that leaves you with no time to dedicate to your real passion.

"If You Don’t Use It, You’ll Lose It!"

How very true!!!

So the other day I tried to paint again but I couldn't!
I did not know how to use paintbrushes any more. I did not know how to apply paint, how to mix it, how to do anything!
How bizarre and how so very frustrating!
After several days of making a mess on my new canvases, I've decided to let go of using brushes for a while and give it a try with palette knives for the very first time in my life.
It was a very good decision as my painting attempt was coming to life finally!!!
Made lots of mistakes, screwed up roses but because of thick paint layers decided to leave it as it is. After all, it's my first painting in so many years and first time using palette knives.
I am self-taught and it is time to start all over again!
Here are some photos and a gif I made of the whole process.

You may notice I used canvas I messed up before than painted it white all over and reused it for this occasion.
All comments and suggestions are very welcome.
Thank you for your time!

Have a beautiful weekend! ☺

Sort:  

I can feel your frustration! Can totally relate lol. Indeed, long breaks can affect skills.. thus continuous practice is required to keep on improving. But don't worry you'll be back fully in no time.

The painting turned out great, by the way. :D

Hi @hiddenblade! Thank you very much for stopping by, for your kind words and your support!!! ☺☺☺
It is still difficult to take time for painting but nearly getting there, lol! ;) ;) ;)

You're welcome! :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much for your support @c-squared!!! ☺☺☺♥

Hi maria444,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow!!! I'm so surprised and feeling really honored!!! Thank you very much indeed!!! ☺♥

Magnifico, estas son mis flores favoritas. Espero saber de ti pronto

Thank you very much! ☺

Congratulations @maria444! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Such a great painting skills you have in there. Using the palette knife to do an amazing piece like this is so awesome. The portray of realism is no fun again since everyone is into it but when you go by different skills like you have in there. It makes you unique
I really love how you depicted the flower and your choice of colour was on point. Good work and keep the painting spirit up always

Hi @ferrate! Thank you very much for your kind words and your support! ☺

You are humbly welcome

It's interesting to see the painting from close, not many artists are posting close-up photos with details, so thank you for that. I love roses and your painting is just lovely, I love the light and luminosity of the painting. Well done!

Thank you @erikah! I'm happy you liked painting. It is the best rewards to hear opinions from others, especially when comments are nice like yours! ☺ Gives me motivation and it's inspiring. Thank you very much!!! ☺☺☺

Aww, what a sweet thing to say. I'm glad you find my comment motivating. Keep up the good work and Steem on! We need good artists 😊

To initiate something after many years it takes lot of internal push. I can relate to this as I started my skech work again after many years.

I took a while too just to understand how I should start and with what!

You did a good work. It's a matter of time and practice and you'll be running on your way.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bloggerkrunal! Really appreciate your comment and your support! Thank you very much indeed!!! ☺

This is really good! I've never tried acrylics, my gf loves acrylics I am more comfortable using watercolors.

Thank you for your kind comment @jungleonion! I am happy to hear you think it's good.
Thank you very much for your support! ☺☺☺

6 years is a very long time :) I'm glad to hear that you got back to painting. We should do what we love.. It's a lovely painting and you've done a great job with the palette knife. It looks like you have a lot of experience :)

I like the flower. Red color is my favorite and it looks amazing in combination with red. I also like your gif.

Thank you for sharing and I'm looking forward to seeing more of your artwork :)

Hi @delishtreats! Thank you very much for stopping by and your encouraging words.
Thanks so much for your support. ☺♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94