Lady In Red - Painting Process

in #art6 years ago

#67

Painting a kung-fu lady, check out the step by step process below.


I start with the darkest areas or contours to establish the base and then just fill in the shading. This way it's easier to quickly get the proportions and basic shading in. Painting is more about abstracting what you see and I found this to be the best method for me to see shapes and forms and indicate them easily.

3.jpg

Figures in movement are a bit tricky because you're dealing with getting the movement right, on top of getting anatomical proportions to look correct ... and clothes add to that complexity as well. I'm mostly indicating shadows in the first step. I use lines for this, some smaller areas I cover with a patch of dark color.

Clothing is one of those things that is always hard to do , because you have a lot form changes, you have to think about how would an area stretch or wrinkle. Worked on getting the lighting right and fixing some proportions here and there, adding those finishing touches.

What do you guys think?

1.jpg

Suggestions for my future posts are very welcome ...
and thank you for your votes and resteems guys :)

Daily Art & Design


Sort:  

this is kool bro....u aced it....kudos

thanks dude

Dear Artist @marin10 ! This post has been upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

You got a 57.28% upvote from @bearwards courtesy of @marin10!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55