My first post - pixelsorting!

in #art6 years ago

Hello, my name is June! I'd thought I'd start out here on Steem by sharing some digital art I made.
voidsign_0.png
The original picture was of a sign right outside a bank with "VOID" graffiti'd on. I thought it was kinda funny, maybe someone got annoyed at a voided check and decided to take out their frustrations with graffiti.

The effect on the image is known as pixelsorting, and while there are a variety of methods to do it, I did it with Kim Asendorf's algorithm (that's a link to the post on Kim's tumblr on which he provided a direct download to the Processing application). The code is open source. Using the program is relatively simple, you just put in the image(s) you want to pixelsort into the same file as the program, then edit the code so it'll load the image you want, and hit run! You can also mess with some parameters and change the "mode", which changes what pixels the algorithm chooses to sort. For example, the first image ignores the darkest parts of the image while the following ignores the brightest:voidsign_2.png

Let me know if you have any requests! These are pretty fun to make. Also: let me know which of the two images you like better. I think both have a certain appeal to them.

Sort:  

Very cool! Def gonna put this on the list of things to look into, I like the top image so much more

Yeah, that was my preference as well :) The more extreme results can be pretty interesting.

No doubt!

Congratulations @martianjune! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @martianjune! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73