Make a painted book cover with your kids - tutorial

in #art6 years ago

Hello everyone, I am really busy these days, so I am glad I could find some time for making a new post. It is one of the things I made with my students and they really enjoyed it. It is quite easy and fun to do, so I wanted to share it with you.

2018-06-12.png

I know it is easier to buy some plastic cover, but when I remember my school years, I was more excited of my own covers. They were original and unique, so I was proud of them and I loved to create them.

This technique includes acrylic paint and stamps, but you can easily do it with brush too.

You will need

  • harder paper A3
  • acrylic paint
  • brush (flat synthetic), foam brush (small)
  • ruller
  • pencil
  • scissors
  • glue
  • (lino sheet, carving tool, wooden base)

The process

First you need to prepare a cover model. I made only covers for A5 school notebooks, which can be done from A3 paper. Here are the measurements.

2018-06-12 (5).png

After preparing you can cut it out and just for sure try to enclose it to the notebook to be sure it fits. Then you can think about the colors and decorations.
I made my own stamps ut of linoleum. The result looks more profesional and printed like. I used some simples mhemes like leaves, feathers, fruits and so on.
If you do not have tools for linocut, you can still ust brush and paint, or make potato stamps. Kids would enjoy it too I think.

2018-06-12 (3).png

Now you can start with painting. Acrylic paint is the best choice for notebook covers, because it creates nice smooth and resistant surface. It has strong shiny pigments and works with stamps too.
I painted just with the basic colors (blue, yellow, red) and added white or black. If you start in a corner and make long strokes in one direction, you can make smooth transitions mixed right on a paper.
After it dries choose some different color and add stamps. Foam brush is better for applying the paint on the stamps.

2018-06-12 (6).png

You can combine motives and create patterns. If you do not have stamps, just paint something similar with a thin brush - ornaments, flowers, leaves...
After drying just fold the edges and stick them together.

2018-06-12 (2).png

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

#thealliance

Sort:  

How I love your craft posts, this is great @marty-arts, you just resolved me a problem I had with some ideas about applying patterns on watercolors :) Now I will have to take out my linocut tools and start cutting. Thank you!

You got a 2.41% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @marty-arts!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This is such a fun project! And who wouldn't want their own designs instead of 'store bought'

Congratulations @marty-arts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99