The song of Achilles by M. Miller -Book Review!

in #art6 years ago

My favorite book is "the song of Achilles" by Madeline Miller.

It's about Patroclus life and his relationship with Achilles. It recounts all the events of Patroclus life and it's relevant to the Iliad.
I love the Miller writing style and I felt inside the the story so much that at some pages, like when Patroclus died and Achilles suffered, I cried so much. And when it happened it was quite embarrassing because I was in class, lol. fortunately no one noticed :))

Anyway, I was emotionally into this book, I loved it too much.

the book contained happy and sad moments but also some hilarious things and I loved it, until the Trojan war started. And so the tears started to fall.

Chapter 10 is my favorite, I always read it when I'm sad, it's about the great times when Achilles and Patroclus were with Chiron on Pelio mountain.
Those old great times where they were only two teens in love enjoying the seasons and learning new things everyday thanks to Chiron...

I used to hate Tethis until the end, at the very last page I realized that I love her so much. I won't spoiler why, don't worry.

I suggest this book if you like greek mythology and you can read it also if you didn't read the Iliad.

Some people lamented the fact that there wasn't a warning of homosexuality. I was like shocked. So there should've been a warning also in every love book you read, because this is what we're talking about. Love.
Homer (or who at his place) didn't put a warning in the Iliad!
"YAOI BOYXBOY DONT LIKE DONT READ" -Homer.

Anyway, Miller is a great writer. Check her books out.

5103yIpt0KL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @maryxwaffles! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @maryxwaffles! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61