A few words about urban_mood's workflow

in #art6 years ago

  In my work process I often have to use photos, because not in every case I can draw from life, because not every time there are tools and materials in touch and not all circumstances are convenient for this. Sometimes I have time just to take a picture for my work and sometimes I specifically determine the place where I can take my film camera and go there, to "collect the material.”

  In my series urban_mood there is such a picture:

  Here I was helped by photos of one rubbish dump, which I had often passed by on the bus . But I managed only to shoot some motion blurred frames on my half-frame camera. Once a time I came to this rubbish dump purposefully and took photos then what do I needed.

  As you see, I use photoshots not as pictures for copying, but most likely as a material for compilations, an image, a set of details, observations of the laws of physics (in this case - how the objects crumple and deform under tons of weight), and also I use them as an example of color scale, atmosphere, mood.

  In this picture I combined two of my favorite phenomena: sunset and stereotyped statue à la antique, whose clones decorate everything from the expensive restaurants entrances, to cheap beer stalls. That is the most ridiculous, that they are all the same "beauties" ones)).


  let's go back to the beginning for a while). usually I start working on any project with this:


  In my sketchbook I make such a kind of guideline: I draw little sketches of what will be portraied and how the images will be related to each other, depending on the tone pallete and thematics. When I have outlined the main compositions, I begin to search for architectural elements, plots, forms, and so on.


  And it begins)

  I walk around the city, shoot photos of fragments of architecture, at my best - I sketch them. Such a mood-board I compose for each picture in the series. And It doesn't matter that in the result itwill be just two ordinary houses), but those will be two carefully selected ones)), just like I need - as if they are not to the end constructed, but already are dwelling houses. In general, in this series I just wanted to reflect the atmosphere and paradoxical nuances of my visual environment in which I grew up and continue to live.


  The whole series is right here

  I hope you enjoyed


  Thanks!

Sort:  

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists and art lovers on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

I already added you as a friend!) I will be happy to cooperate))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 68794.19
ETH 3567.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23