Duomo Project / Day 2

in #art5 years ago

Duomo day 2.jpg

Matthew Holden Bates up on a ladder starting the trace for his newest Duomo Painting

Hey Everybody, I guess we are off to the races. The first part of the process is to transfer by hand the idea of the painting. This is a very antique tradition with a very modern twist. The idea of the technique derives from the Spolvero or dusting where little holes were punched through the drawing and a bag full of black carbon was dabbed along the punched holes leaving little black dots on the surface, usually a fresco project, effectively leaving a trace of the original idea on the wall.

I do the same thing, but I have a computer, and amazing photography. I can make so much more detailed my Spolvero using modern techniques. It takes a long time to trace it all, and it is an interesting experience because I get to see every single detail that I will have to paint. It is a rerhersal of sorts where I begin to think about my methods and what colors I want to use, all of it. In my next post we will see the finished Spolvero on the white canvas, all ready to start the actual painting process.

If you are new to my blog, first of all welcome! I am working on a new painting, and I am documenting a virtual "Making Of" this painting. If you would like to see the whole thing through, I invite you to follow me @matteopaints Resteems are always welcome, and comments are what make this platform so special.

See You Soon!!! Matteo

Sort:  

@matteopaints, thanks for explaining your technique to us. As you’re figuring out around here, the more personable we become like giving away secrets or the more relatable we become like communicating with our audience the more successful we are.

Congratulations on all of your success here Matteo, your paintings deserve all of it.

And, congratulations on reaching 66 SP on your own, that’s awesome! As I stated several months ago, I would pull back my delegation once you reached 50 SP because someone with your kind of talent needs to be heard around here, a lack of resource credits for such a talented artist is unacceptable. You have plenty of resource credits now to do all of the communicating you’re accustomed to without my delegation. I’m going to pull back now, the delegated SP will leave your account in exactly 7 days, ok? .....but it’s not going in my pocket, sir—Nope!

I want you to know I’ll use your delegation and double down on it and delegate to @curie. Curie is the big upvote that both you and I reach for along with everyone else on this platform. In case you haven’t noticed, there’s some changes going on over there—@hendrikdegrote, the big wallet that chases curie, has been powering down for several weeks. What does that mean?

It means their biggest financial support is powering down 100k SP ever 7 days, hence the reason curie’s votes are now worth more than his. But they won’t be worth anything if we don’t delegate to their curation initiative. They help undiscovered talent get recognized every day but they’ll be limited if the community doesn’t help them out.

When you get to a point where you can afford to spare some SP, I recommend giving them a look! 👍🏿 Also, you can chase their trail (the one that hits you sometimes), you can adjust your computer to upvote the content they upvote, you’ll hardly notice the dip in your voting percentage while spreading your Upvotes among many accounts, some new, some seasoned.

I see you’ve been hit a few times by @creativecrypto, too, that’s another good initiative to consider following, my accounts chase both of them, Matteo. When the time comes, should you need help delagating and/or trailing, I’m right here, I’ll walk you through either or both, they’re quite simple actually.

The pleasure’s all mine, @matteopaints, I’ll see you around!

You see this one @splatz?

Yo, Yo, Yo you sure are asking a lot on a Monday morning. I will just do what I do. Thanks for calling me out @dandays

Wow! That is quite a message! Thanks always for your help. I am glad that you are here to help me figure out the steemsphere. A presto, Matteo

Hey @matteopaints, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!

Thanks!!!!!!!😎

The painting is looking very cool. I can't wait to see the finished result, Matteo!

Thanks Bro!!!! I want to see it when it's finished too ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Grazie!!!!!!😀

wao esta excelente estimado este material que posteas tiene mucha calidad gracias por publicar buen contenido te invito a seguirme @lucianolaravegas y siempre estaré contacto para visualizar tu contenido...

Thats going to be a master piece

Thank you!!!! Too kind, but I'll take it :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Interesting... I had no idea that they used to punch holes through the drawing! Although, wouldn't that destroy the original?

Well, what is the original? Yes the original drawing is changed, but it is not about that, the artist needs to transmit the idea, to the public...the original is the idea.

Ah... I had misunderstood! It is a template for the finished product!

Congratulations @matteopaints! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05