Deep Dreaming and generating new images

in #art6 years ago

I have never been artistic and has always been a running joke I tell people that I can't draw to save my life.

One of my tasks is working in branding and thinking of concepts and the copy for the ad. I have often worked with graphic artists and designers in trying to breathe into life the concepts and make it a reality.

I have always envied artists who can create art either traditionally using the medium of paint, sculpture or pencil as well as those that use the digital medium of photoshop and other computer program to create from scratch.

It is not as if I never tried. There was even a summer that I spent taking an art class but somehow I never really got the hang of it because it frustrates me that I could not turn my vision into the reality. I did do well well with ashtray and basic vase creation since I am good with my hands.

Being in @helpie and surrounded by people who create music and art both intrigues me and make me jealous of their talent.

They have channels for art, music and trippy fractals and Deep Dreaming images.

What is Deep Dreaming?

DeepDream is a computer vision program created by Google engineer Alexander Mordvintsev which uses a convolutional neural network to find and enhance patterns in images via algorithmic pareidolia, thus creating a dream-like hallucinogenic appearance in the deliberately over-processed images

Talks on using Deep Dream Generators piqued my interest and I have been dabbling on it a bit. Using some of my Adventure Time images and deep dreaming it came with these results.

Mave Dreams.jpg

Mave contemplating in the garden on his next adventure

I love Adventure Time and think that it is a perfect image to do this as its stories, characters and even art style borders into a psychedelic experience.

image.png

Source

Mave Unicorn.jpg

What Jake and Finn would look like if combined

When I saw this generated it was far out! It is what I would think a Were-Jake version of Finn would be like complete with an almost serpentine Unicorn behind me.

normal finn.jpg

Normal Finn?

This is a bit more normal looking but with a blueish dream-like vibe to it. Although I look fat here hahahha

masked sunset.jpg

Pastel Mave

This has got to be my favorite as this is also the image I use in my discord thumbnail albeit this has a deep dreaming enhancement of it looking like it was drawn with pastel. It is awesome to look.

Inanimate objects

Enough with me and I tested it out with places and things.

flooded.jpg

Cold Outreach

This picture was taken during our last outreach for @giftinkindph this was when we were crossing a flooded area and the rain was really pouring and I imagine that they were so cold.

I gave the image a blueish tone, almost ice-like that it had these hard lines and looking like ice fractures.

dream angel.jpg

Dream Angel

@helpies were found of creating deep dream generated angels and so I wanted to do one as well. This statue was taken in the church of my school when I visited it.

It has a golden glow that looks like the air is simmering with radiance or heat, maybe even both.

dream church 1.jpg

Dream Church

Rendering it with an almost the same golden hue and large strokes giving it a dream-like haziness.

water church.jpg

Sunken Church

This image when I saw it made me imagine a dystopian future of the ice caps melting because we did not heed global warming.

It retained some of the radiance but is superseded with the blue tinge of the deep as well the cities has sunk below the waves.

PM_line_2.png

Overall this was a fun activity to do as I was experimenting and going deeper in dreaming. I might not be able to draw but I can envision something and deep dream generator is a way for me to create art that is my own by combining my images with the computer algorithms.

If you are interested to do it go to this website https://deepdreamgenerator.com/ it is but one of the many sites offering this creative tool.

Keep Dreaming and Inspire on

Sort:  

@maverickinvictus... This is really great. I love the graphics and interface as they look very real. It also has some great features just like that of photoshop. But I hope it's not too difficult to learn this?

Nah it is pretty easy you load an image, choose what you want the style to be or make it a deep dream and completely random

It is fun and the image after makes you think how it became like that

This is very lovely... I will try to see it

I absolutely love this and can't wait to try it! I've dabbled in pottery and watercolor painting and my efforts turned out "not bad", but they sure weren't "that good" either haha. I too am envious of artists abilities; with this tool, we can sure pretend though, can't we?! Thanks Mav! Hope you are well :)

Ahahhaha me too lynn although i did like pottery.

You got to try it as brings out an another dimension for your images

I still have this open on my computer, waiting for the right time to get at it!!

You got a 2.63% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @maverickinvictus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

And you say you're not artistic... I think we all know better.

Thanks to @seyiodus, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Wow I have now been officially been Sneaked!!! this is such an honor and thanks to Sey for submitting my entry.

That looks really cool! Very special effects .. like it!

Yeah it is so awesome!! turning your images into something new and have a very trippy look to it!

https://deepdreamgenerator.com/ this is what I am using,.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01