Self portriat with scarf - original oil painting by @mayasky

in #art6 years ago

Hello and good evening everyone!

Today I wanted to share another painting that I have found going through my old work that is being kept here in Norway. (Quite generously by my parents..)

Selvportrett med sjal, 20 x 30 cm, 4500 kr.jpg
''Self portrait with scarf'', 20 x 30 cm, oil paint on wooden panel.

This portrait is going in the emotional value box for sure. That is because it was painted during a rather special and transformative time in my life where I was living on a small island in the west of Norway.

During the 4 months I lived in an old house with autumn storms raging outside, mice in the wall , one store in twenty miles and no internet I ended up producing enough work for a whole exchibition!

I also got A LOT of time to reflect on life and I guess this self portrait was part of that, heheh.. I am wearing a wollen scarf in the painting because well, I had to wear a lot of woll during that time to keep warm!

IMG_4347mnb.jpg
Close up..

Out of all my self portraits I have to say though, that I think this one carries the less resemblence of myself.
Maybe it's the angle I have chosen to paint or the fact that my hair is so dark, but something throws me.. It's like looking at someone who could be my cousin or sister perhaps..

Funny how that happens sometimes..

I always thought I would go back to that island one day as I met some very genuine people that became great friends. Now I am not so sure... I guess there is a time and a place for everything, right?

Anyways, I hope you are all having a fantastic start to the new week!!

<3

20668110_1612540948767201_752565352_n.jpg

Sort:  

the most detailed version of art work wow resteemed

The close up shots reveals so much details its interesting

"...ended up producing enough work for a whole exchibition!"

Does that mean there IS an exhibition coming up?

No @leoplaw!:) There WAS an exhibition :) A couple of years ago now.. This is one of the paintings that didn't sell.. :)

Nice work, I would love to see the rest of your paintings from that time 😊

Thank you so much, maybe I'll post a few more one of these days ;)

I'm captured by the elusive character of your portrait, it's amazing!

Thank you so much @tishyaoedit!!

Wow, such an amazing portrait, skills, charisma and beauty melted in one. I am very glad I found your blog.

Thank you so much for your sweet comment @bella-volen-art! :D <3

I think you will someday able to meet them :)
and the painting is very great and lively !

Yes, hopefully @rehan12! :) Thank you! :)

this is a professional work, i liked the distribution of light and dark in the face with the rich shadows in place, i must upvote this piece of art. :-)

Thank you so much @jacobkaled! :)

This portrait is very intense. I like the light so much. Is a wonderfull work. Congtatulation

Thank you so very much @enmaart! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71