What I do to make myself happy. #UPCYCLING

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was little gloomy for me. :(
So, at the end of the day I had to do something to cheer myself up and that's...ART!

I love to make some fab out of scrap. I collect empty wine bottles, vintage equipments, empty frames, wedding cards, invitation cards, buttons and any thing which catches my eyes and mind. My family and friends call me KABAADI (Scrap dealer), but I shamelessly do what I do. :D

I found this small frame about a year ago from my friend's house...from a carton of dumped items. I oil painted the patchy golden base back then but couldn't draw something on it because- 1] It took really long to dry this oil paint. 2] I couldn't get time because, if I decide to do some art I want to complete it on the same day.

Yesterday evening, I really needed to do something for my peace of mind. Mostly I like to do photography but I wanted to sip my evening tea in my room and do something sitting on the floor.
Suddenly I recalled this frame which I painted long ago, the scene is set. YAYYY!

PPKC3729.JPG

I wanted it to be simple and quick so I used only black paint to brush these tribal figures. I don't know why...but tribal paintings have been attracting me for long, be it is African or Indian. I find them really engaging and delightful

As I am not a pro, I simply googled out these Indian tribal figures and drew pencil outline on the base.

XWZC3624.JPG

Mixed black paint with thinner and stroked it with size 0 brush.
Although, It's not that neat...but I really like these cute little buffalo/cow figures.

And now It's on my wall!
PLAU4738.JPG

My idea of recycling

I believe in recycling almost every thing! Actually I prefer to call it upcycling. We are responsible for preserving and protecting our resources for ourselves and for the future generations. The best thing is, we don't need to join any community or to make clubs to do that, we can start it right from our homes. Recycling is not new, It is a common household activity from centuries. But now it has become a necessity. Most importantly it makes me happy, so I can say... I do it for myself. :)
I'll share more of my "upcycle" stories which I've created in the past and definitely upcoming.

Thanks for scrolling through my blog Steemians. Stay tuned! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @merakiwoman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I dint know you were into art
this is brilliant !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68