A family portrait - new painting (Day 2)

in #art8 years ago

A family in repose - (continued from Day 1)

I am currently working on a new piece in this series of family portraits. This is my boyfriend's paternal grandfather, Frank. This photo, as were many of these candid shots, was taken by his father, Bob, when he was a boy. He had a knack for catching people off guard. Here he's captured his father is napping on the sofa. Again, as with the other images, I find this to be endearing and evocative of a bygone era. This particular photo is from the same location; the living room. I have several shots of various family members mostly reading or simply relaxing there.

Day 2

Frank in repose

I'm beginning to add more color and definition to the shapes. Working in the face. The face has got to be the hardest part as it's so subjective to the viewer. I never knew this man and only have a few photographs for reference so all I can hope for is to be as accurate as possible. The photo is also black and white so I'm taking liberties for color selection. The wood grain I can judge fairly well but fabrics is anyone's guess. I would imagine their tastes would be a little conservative based on the era, geographical location and generation. Not that it really matters but I think it's safe to say they didn't have a bright green sofa and pink wall paper. What is more important is capturing the mood, the focus being that of repose.

(to be continued)

Bobby
RIP Bobby - The boy with the camera.

Sort:  

This is awesome. I look forward to see how it turns out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.94
ETH 3807.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52