A family portrait - new painting with daily progress

in #art8 years ago (edited)

A family in repose

I am currently working on a new piece on this series of family portraits. This is my boyfriend's paternal grandfather, Frank. This photo, as were many of these candid shots, was taken by his father, Bob, when he was a boy. He had a knack for catching people off guard. Here he's captured his father napping on the sofa. Again, as with the other images, I find this to be endearing and evocative of a bygone era. This particular photo is from the same location; the living room. I have several shots of various family members mostly reading or simply relaxing there.

Gramps in repose
This is the first day blocking in the painting. I don't have a studio so I am working on the hearth of my fireplace.

Gramps in repose
This is my reference.

Day two

Gramps in repose
Starting to define the shapes and add a little color.

Gramps in repose
My make-shift art studio. I'm only able to work on this a couple of hours per day as I have a regular job. Someday I hope to make this my primary source of income. But for now it's simply a much needed creative outlet.

(to be continued)

Bobby
RIP Bobby - The boy with the camera.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67768.16
ETH 3769.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48