See the Forest for the Trees (alcohol inks, acrylics and resin on 83 inch upcycled sawblade)

in #art5 years ago

as7.jpg


My family and I immersed ourselves in the woods for 3 months. We lived in a tent; exploring Forest Service Roads to their inevitable ends and absorbing the breath-taking beauty of this glorious region. A sense of isolation and expansiveness washed over me after a couple days away from the usual distractions of society. We endeavored to places that appeared abandoned. I wished to myself that more people would come here and see these vestiges; to pay homage to the sacrifices of the forests.

We have carved our way into this wilderness and to see the trails fade away for lack of use was one of the saddest parts of our journey. This show is an expression of my yearning for a world where people take more time to See the Forest for the Trees.

This is one of 28 blades that I upcycled for my current show, See the Forest for the Trees. That is where I have been the last few months. More to come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75