Environment Thumbs (Concept Art)

in #art6 years ago

I've decided the working title for this project will be "Prodigal". To recap, this is a concept art project I'm working of for fun and practice. You can see a bit about the story here for those that are new.

buildingEnvThumbs_001.jpg

So in this iteration I took my favorite building design I created before and did a few quick paintovers to explore the color of the alien world.

So a bit more info about the story, the aliens planet is dying. They need to find a race of less advanced beings that they can then invade and en mass transport them to their planet. The reason for the research they're doing on out protagonists is they need a race that can be genetically modified to have rudimentary(relative to them) psychic powers. They've found a good match in humans, and this starts the adventure with our two characters.

Once they find out about the aliens true purpose, they escape to warn Earth about the coming invasion. If none of this makes sense, please see the previous post.

blah.png

blah2.png

So the way I went about making these was to do either a screen grab from my 3D software or just a really basic render. I'd then shrink this down really small and just start painting on top. There's some photobashing in there and whatever works because this is really all about just solving the color problem and I'd normally not show this part of the process.

I think I'll also do art recaps with these posts so people that are seeing my stuff for the first time can see some of how I got here. After a few weeks, that should make each one of these posts pretty epic! :D

buildingThumbs.jpg

So these are the original designs that I did where I eventually arrived at the one I liked.

BuildingTest_05.png

Also here's the first 3D version of my final building design, I changed a few things later.

BuildingTest_04.png

This was also another 3D exploration that I've decided to use as the secondary buildings around the primary one.
There's a few more images in the previous post about this project, and you can check those out here.

So be sure to let me know what you guys think in the comments, hope you're enjoying the process so far! Thanks for tuning in peeps!

Sort:  

Wow cool stuff @midlet!

Awesome. Reminds me of the church on Geary

Really liking the 3D! Very interesting.

Thanks @luckyfellow! Yea, it's pretty neat stuff :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

As usual @midlet, your artistic work is what I just read on a greeting card. “You are whatever is above top shelf.”

Thanks so much @jluvs2fly! :)

Oh wow! Thanks @curie! :D

This is wonderful art midlet and you are also wonderful :D.

Woohoo, more awesome works, @midlet! ^.^
I really love the process and the sketches and 3D renders. I usually prefer looking at the process than the final design. (not because the last version is bad, I just believe the path to reaching it is much more important).

Congratulations on the curie vote. ;) I think your works need to be shared throughout the Steemit community a lot more. ;)

I wish I was better at 3D. My project has all kinds of scenes that would benefit from quick visualization.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85