Foundations: Part 4 (Last One)

in #art6 years ago

11275167_1417757211879164_1989458777_n.jpg

The above portrait was the first color portrait I did that wasn't from life. My friend Dana posed for me with the deal that she could have the painting after I painted it. So I really didn't want to screw it up. Unfortunately because of that I don't have the original painting and I had to scour the internet to find this copy, which is as high res as I could find. I've lost all the other images of it.

Back then I hadn't really done much that looked like anything, so I don't think she was expecting much, but she ended up really liking it which was a nice confidence boost back then.

IMG_5132.JPG

IMG_5131.JPG

This study was years later after I was a bit more comfortable with painting. I think it was around an hour and a half life painting.

IMG_5137.JPG

IMG_5136.JPG

This one was also pretty early on. I remember one of the quick lessons I learned about painting in school was bigger was better lol. Not literally, but when it came to presentation, there was a bit of wow factor when you walked in with a huge painting, even when the skill was mediocre, it always looked more impressive if it was massive. Free pro tip :p

IMG_5152.JPG

No story for this one, just another random study from life that I hardly remember painting.

So as promised I wanted to also show some of my terrible drawings from the beginning, these are the oldest that I could find, but they're still probably past the first year of art school. I tried to adjust these in Photoshop so you can actually make them out. The lines are so faint that they're hardly visible, a typical beginner mistake when you lack confidence.

IMG_2745.JPG

IMG_2746.JPG

IMG_2747.JPG

IMG_2748.JPG

Well that's it for the blast from the past/Foundations series, I'll be jumping back into more current stuff from now on, hope you guys enjoyed! Let me know in the comments. As always thanks for looking peeps!

Sort:  

I actually love your oil paintings. I also admire your digital art work as well., but there is something so classical about paint on canvas. 😊

I'm sure I'll pick it back up one day :)

awah i love your studies~ very lovely~ the colours off your portraits are just so wonderful and artistic <3 <3 <3

it has been a lovely trip to your past, @midlet <3 thank you for sharing these posts <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hello, @midlet. Your works are horrible :) Thank you for sharing with us!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by midlet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

i can't help but get in love with your studies -
i want to also get to the point when i can make realistic or semi realistic art and just call it "sketch" xD
great work as always <3

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13