Mooooaaar Cubes

in #art5 years ago

zqxnxun10n.jpg

This time around I painted a weathered stone and some marble. Just in case you're new, these are class demos from a digital painting class that I teach. Here's some of the process.

qizjji88yi.gif

The marble was an interesting puzzle to solve. I like to try to make my demos different from previous ones because the students have access to all my previous demos and all the layer structure is still there so they can pretty clearly break down how things were made.

It gets a bit redundant if I choose a lot of the same looks. So I've already done a typical looking marble, if you scroll back far enough I'm sure I posted that at some point. But this time I wanted to do this really colorful marble that had all these sedimentary looking layers in it.

I first painted it flat then distorted the planes onto a cube and continued the painting from there.

I also used the liquefy tool in Photoshop to help get the layered look.

tf2tmulphw.gif

That's about it for rock week. I think next week is wood. Thanks for looking peeps!

Sort:  

I love rocks! This is very cool!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.443 which ranks you at #2139 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #65.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99